Wexford's young artists rewarded for their efforts in hugely popular competitions

By David tucker

Prizewinners in the Credit Union Art Competition were presented with their prizes recently at Wexford Credit Union.
Prizewinners in the Credit Union Art Competition were presented with their prizes recently at Wexford Credit Union.

LOCAL winners of the 2015 Credit Union poster competition were rewarded for their efforts at a presentation in Wexford town last week.

The first prize winners in each category will now go through to the regional finals, with winning regional entries going on to the national awards ceremony hosted by Marty Whelan in February next year.

The All Ireland Credit Union Art Competition is now in its 32nd year with local, chapter and national rounds for all age groups.

The competition attracts up to 30,000 entries through 448 credit unions nationwide and will culminate in the national final in Croke Park with categories ranging from the under sevens to those over 18 years of age.

There is also a special category for those with physical or intellectual disabilities.

The theme this year was 'Happiness Is..' and was open to interpretation by each entrant but aimed to celebrate imagination, vibrancy, creativity and to explore what happiness means to Irish people and their communities.

Josh O Connor, Chairperson of Marketing Committee, said on the Wexford presentation night that it was important to nurture our budding artists and celebrate our communities. 'The volume, and indeed the standard of entries has been incredible again this year at the local level of the competition. This is a hugely popular competition which aims to encourage artist expression and creativity within the community - as you can see from all the prize winners displayed in the office tonight,' said Mr O'Connor. Following are the results: Seven years and under, 1st prize, Eliska O Loan, 2nd, Sara Cullen and 3rd, Eoghan Murphy; eight to 10 years, Winner, Josh Kinsella, 2nd Isabel Barron and 3rd, Eve Angood; 11-13 years, 1st, Julia Sanina, 2nd, Daragh Schokman, and 3rd, Izabela Zielinska; 14 - 17 Years, 1st, Ciara Scullion, 2nd, Roisin O Sullivan and 3rd, Erin Busher. 18 years and over, 1st, Eimear Gilhooly, 2nd, David Ronan and 3rd, Brian Monaghan. Seven years and under, Special Category, 1st, Aaron Keane Gray, 2nd Mick Cash and 3rd Mikey Kehoe; eight to 10 special category, 1st, Niamh Power, Taidh Mac Eochaidh and 3rd, Conor Black; 11 to 13 special category, 1st, Alex Molloy, 2nd, Dillon Murphy and 3rd, Kevin Brown; 14 to 17 special category, 1st, Mick O'Brien Shehan, 2nd, Gwen Cullen and 3rd Dylan Farrelly; 18 years and over special category, 1st, Billy Whitty, 2nd, Eleanor O'Dowd and 3rd Elaine Tennant.

Wexford People

Read More

Hello Johnny comes to the Athenaeum 

7 HELLO JOHNNY: This new show by Wexford Studio Theatre takes place at the Athenaeum in Enniscorthy on Saturday night at 8pm. A close and personal look at the mental health industry Hello Johnny is a one man performance which deals with the topic of mental illness. The show asks pertinent questions concerning the motivation and substantial profits of the major drug companies. The content of the show is an ideal starting point for important discussions on the subject of mental health. Following the show there will be a discussion on a wide range of...

A night of cookery and comedy 

7 COMEDY AND COOKERY. Monaseed National School parents' association will host a fun evening of comedy and cooking in the Amber Springs Hotel on Wednesday night, February 8. On the night three local chefs, Eric Poole, Veronica Redmond and Ben Anderson, will take part in a cook off ably assisted by some local celebrities. Local producers and crafts people will also showcase their produce on the night. Anyone interested in taking a table is asked to contact Claire Carroll on 087 2338152. Doors open at 7pm and tickets which are €10 can be...

Most Read

Promoted articles