Shels stroll to fourth victory

Starlights still in contention

Dean Goodison

Published 11/08/2015 | 00:00

Shelmaliers picked up yet another victory as they cantered past Starlights in the Enniscorthy Farm Systems Junior football championship Group A at Monageer on Sunday.

Shelmaliers 2-19 Starlights 0-6

The Over The Water side have won all four matches to date and face Monageer-Boolavogue in their final group game to decide who heads into the knockout stages as round-robin winners.

Starlights were no match for their youthful, dangerous set of attackers that had that little bit of experience from Colin Redmond orchestrating the play from centre-forward.

Shelmaliers claimed the first nine points with Redmond, Neal Rossiter, Michael Feeney and Jody Donohoe all registering scores. A mini-revival saw Wayne Breen and Pa O'Rourke point but a Cian Manley score left the Hollymount side 0-10 to 0-2 ahead at the break.

The points continued to flow into the second-half with Colin Cleary adding his name to the list of scorers before Donohoe flicked a fist at Redmond's pass for the first goal.

If the touch for that goal was deft, the lob for the second was sublime as Cleary looped a succulent shot over the advancing Gary Murphy to put Shelmaliers 2-16 to 0-4 up after 51 minutes.

The Wexford District side just failed to hit the 20-point barrier but did see Eoghan Fitzgerald saunter up the field for a point and Craig Parker also add his name to the scoresheet.

With a game to go Starlights are also assured of their spot in the quarter-finals after other results went their way, but they will need to improve considerably on this showing to advance past the final eight.

Shelmaliers: Seán Byrne; Eoghan Fitzgerald (0-1), Darren Malone, Cathal Gaule; Neal Rossiter (0-2), Cian Manley (0-1), Enda Cloake; Emmet O'Leary (capt.), Alan Griffith; Craig Parker (0-1), Colin Redmond (0-5, 1 free, 1 '45), Michael Feeney (0-3); Colin Cleary (1-2), Conor Hearne, Jody Donohoe (1-4). Sub. - Seamie Harding for O'Leary, inj. (58).

Starlights: Gary Murphy; Davy Morrissey, Joe Cullen, Ed Tobin; Wayne Breen (0-2), Killian Lett, Mark Redmond; Kevin Ryan, John Daly; Eoin Quigley, Eamonn Furlong (0-1 free), Seán Cloherty; Diarmuid Byrne, Stephen McGorman (capt.), Pa O'Rourke (0-1 free). Subs. - Tom Ryan (0-1) for Daly, inj. (16), Patrick Connors (0-1) for Byrne (31), Declan Courtney for Redmond (31), Joe Carley for McGorman (49), Oisín Dunbar for Cullen (56).

Referee: Pat Owley (Tara Rocks).

Wexford People

Read More

Most Read

Promoted articles