Friday 19 January 2018

Agreement reached for Piercestown and Enniscorthy Credit Union merger

Enniscorthy and Piercestown and District Credit Unions have agreed to a transfer of engagements to form one credit union under the name of Enniscorthy Credit Union.

The combined credit union will operate from offices at Abbey Square, Enniscorthy, Ballymurn, Murrintown and Taghmon.

The Abbey Square office will be open six days and the Ballymurn, Murrintown and Taghmon offices will open for three days per week.

The merged credit union will have nearly 30,000 members and total assets of €150 million and serve members in about third of the county of Wexford.

More and more smaller credit unions are struggling with the new regulatory requirements and to get volunteers.

This merger will guarantee the future of the offices at Murrintown and Taghmon and also expand services in these offices as the merged credit union will offer foreign exchange service,

Paypoint for bill payments and mobile-ups, online services including payment services, website and Facebook.

Tony Ennis, Manager of Enniscorthy Credit Union said: 'This is a very positive move for both credit unions as it guarantees the future of the offices in Murrintown and Taghmon and extends the services offered to our members whilst offering us the opportunity to grow the credit union in the areas populated by the former Piercestown & District Credit Union.

'We look forward to providing them with the level and breadth of service currently available to our members and growing our membership as a result.'

Wexford People

Promoted Links