Hotel to reopen in Fethard-on-Sea
The owners of the former Naomh Seosamh Hotel in Fethard-on-Sea plan to reopen it as an apart-hotel over the coming months.
Justin Keatinge and Maureen Stuart, who run Carnivan Bay Hospitality, are investing heavily in the old building which dates to the 1950s. Work began on the building in early September.
The hotel closed in November 2008 and fell into disrepair. It was the only hotel on the Hook Peninsula and news that it is reopening has been greeted with anticipation in the bustling village, which has seen new businesses open in recent times.
Work has been ongoing on the hotel and the owners sought planning permission from Wexford County Council for an extension and alterations to the existing hotel, including an extension to the first floor area with an infill development and a new roof to replace the existing rear extension, a new entrance perch to the street front facade to replace the existing exterior windows and doors throughout the building and site works. Change of use has been sought for the second floor for guest accommodation.
The owners own a successful company called Version 1 and have been expanding their accommodation offerings. Mr Keatinge has purchased another building in the village which is occupied by Hook Head Experience.
The old hotel was named after the Naomh Seosamh boat which sank in 1957. It was run by Eileen Leary and Margaret Reynolds as a very successful business up until the 1980s, when Bobby Tweedy took it over and after him Nicky Tweedy, who also owned the Templar's Inn for a time, ran it until it closed.