Thursday 14 December 2017

Bridge congress sees Co Wexford players impress

Catherine Lynn.
Catherine Lynn.
Teresa Cowman.
Mary G Doyle.
Mary Donohue.
Mary Doyle.
Paddy Breen.
Statia Fortune.
Kathleen O'Reilly.

The 44th Wexford Bridge Congress proved a great success in the Clayton White's Hotel last weekend. There were good crowds in attendance at all sessions, with many of the top prizes on offer being won by Wexford players.

The president of the Contract Bridge Association of Ireland, Freda Fitzgerald from Dublin, was guest of honour for the weekend and presided at the official opening on Friday night while regional president Mary Treacy from Waterford was also present.

There was keen competition in all events and players from the area were in contention in all of the events with many of them picking up valuable prize money.

Dorcas Maher and Anne Harvey from Wexford started off the weekend for the home players in fine style winning the B Pairs on Friday night while

Enniscorthy players Paula Carolan Creedon and Gay Conroy were third. Katherine Lennon and Stephen Scallan came second in the Mixed Pairs while

Michael and Fiona Murphy were third in the Novice Pairs. Terry O'Hara and Dave Noonan came second in the Congress Pairs while Derek Crosbie got the second session prize in the same competition in partnership with Sean Connor from Tramore. Katherine Lennon and Stephen Scallan again featured picking up the Best Bridge Centre Pair in this competition.

The Intermediate Pairs was probably the hardest won competition of the weekend with a record 80 pairs vying for top prize. Honours were well divided out around the country with Helen McGuire and Genevieve Moynihan taking the Bridge Centre Prize. The strong team of locals Katherine Lennon, Jim Sexton and Jim Doyle in tandem with Frank O'Farrell from Carlow retained their title in the Teams competition in fine style while Mary O'Donoghue, Teresa Coffey, Imelda Dunne, Ida McCarthy were the second-placed A Team.

Margaret Ennis was on the team which got the second session prize in this competition.

Wexford People

Promoted Links