Friday 20 September 2019



While most of us sat in enjoying the Christmas Festivities on the 2nd January, Athletes from the Adamstown AC were out in force in Linkstown to shake off the Christmas Pudding for the County Under Age Cross Country Relays. When it came down to business, nothing could stop the troopers from Adamstown.

The first race was the race of the day with U10 Girls Tara Doyle, Kate Jackman, Rachel Power and Sonia Mooney beaten on the line into 2nd place, 3rd place also went to Adamstown, racing their hearts out were Sarah O'Gorman, Meabh Byrne, Eaodin Stafford and E Byrne.

U10 Boys saw a clean sweep for Adamstown 1st, 2nd and 3rd, it was a toss of a coin for 1st and 2nd place, 1st team members were Craig Wall, Luke Byrne, Padraic Wickham and David O'Gorman, 2nd place were Eoin O'Gorman, Christoper Mahon, Graham O'Reilly and Cormac Byrne. 3rd team members were our up and coming Cathal Doyle, Ben Wall, Robert Wall and Eamon Byrne.

U12 Girls put in a strong performance to come away with silver medals, team members Shannon Wall, Triona Mooney, Aoife Muldoon and Emma Byrne and Zara Power,

U12 Boys were not to be outdone and put up a strong challenge to fight for bronze medals, 3rd place team members were Jack Power, Conor O'Gorman, Seanie O'Neill and Brian O'Gorman. U14 Boys bagged themselves a gold with team members Liam Stafford, James O'Shea, Joe Mooney and Saba. Keeping the flag flying high to round off the day was Stephen Gorman, who won gold in the County Junior 6000m. Well done to everyone. We wish Stephen best of luck in the U17 All Ireland Cross Country in Tullamore on 16th January.

The Athletic club is having its Awards/party evening on Friday 28th January starting at 7pm, and we would like to invite all our neighbours, friends, past and present athletes and everyone who helped out the athletic club over the years and especially those who helped out, big or small, with making this year's leinster championship such a success for the club. We would be delighted to have you at the Awards night as this is our way and the athletes way of showing our appreciation for your help. Don't forget to put the date in your diary and bring the family.


The weekly "30" Card Game continues in the Community Centre on Friday 21st January at 9pm. There is €220 in prize money on offer each night. Thanks to the ladies for the teas last week. Catering on the night will be: Geraldine Ridgeway, Patricia Furlong and Cathy Delaney. Catering the following Friday 28th of January will be: Francis Gallagher, Mary J Furlong and Lisa Kirwan, Misterin. Proceeds going to Parish Funds.


Adamstown GAA Club is organising a celebration Dinner Dance in the Horse and Hound, Ballinaboola on 29th January.


The next meeting will be held on Tuesday 1st February to make arrangements for the Clubs ploughing match on Sunday 20th February in Raheen. All meetings for the coming year will be held on the first Tuesday of each month at 9 o clock.


Adamstown A.C. AGM was held on Monday January 10th at 8pm. The following committee members were elected.

Patrons; Fr Nolan, Fr Furlong, Fr McGrath Presidents; Seamus Bradley, Jimmy O' Shea, John Walshe, Mick Delaney, Jimmy Furlong Chairperson; Marie Louise Byrne Vice Chairperson; Breda Furlong Secretary; Alma Gorman Ass. Secretary; Carmel Stephenson Treasurer; Ellen Furlong Ass. Treasurer; Willie Stafford PRO; Annemarie O'Shea Competitions Secretary; Ann O' Gorman Female Safety officer; Sinead O' Gorman Male Safety Officer; Nick Walshe Co. Delegates; Willie Stafford, Danny Gorman Committee; Marie Mooney, Moira O' Gorman


The draw of the St Abbans, Adamstown GAA Club's recent "Lucky Dip" Fundraiser was held on Saturday night 8th of January 2011, in Murphy's Bar, Newbawn.

The winners of the prizes were as follows:-1st Prize - €2,000 - Seamus Sutton, Arthurstown, New Ross. 2nd Prize - €1,000 - Michael English, Tinnecarrig, Newbawn. 3rd Prize €500 - Laurence Roche, Brownstown, Newbawn. 4th Prize €50 - Debbie Jordan, Ballycoheir, New Ross. 5th Prize €50 - Roisin Doyle, Breezemount. 6th Prize €50 - Bridget Kavanagh, Templenacroha. 7th Prize €50 - Pat O'Neill, Tomgarrow, Adamstown. 8th Prize €50 - Dermot Reilly, Ballina, Co Mayo. 9th Prize €50 - Kate Banville, Hayestown, Taghmon.


Adamstown Coiste Na nOg will hold its Annual General Meeting on Thursday 20th of January in Adamstown Community Centre at 8.30pm. All parents of players and intending players are asked to attend. If you have some spare time on your hands and would like to get involved int he club, please come along to the meeting.

Membership fees for the coming year will also be taken up on the night. Your support would be greatly appreciated.


The Senior Citizen's Christmas party will now take place on Sunday 23rd January in Adamstown Community Centre at 5.30pm. For all those who are eligible to attend please contact Helen Furlong on 086 3454036 or Anne Stafford on 086 8375552 before Wednesday 19th of January at the latest.


Saturday 22nd January - Mass at 7pm - John Bardon, Doonooney. Sunday 23rd of January - Mass at 10.30 - Mogue and Mary Keeley, The Leap, Jim and Ellen Kehoe, Rathurtin. May They Rest In Peace.

Most Read