Tuesday 24 October 2017



Entry Forms and the full schedule book are now available for the 64th Annual Show to be held in Adamstown on Saturday 2nd July.

For all information and entry forms please contact Kay McCabe (Hon Secretary), Ballyvergin House, Adamstown on 053 9240635 after 7pm or email or visit our website Support your local show.


The Shamrock Vintage Club held its monthly meeting on Tuesday 7th June. The Chairman Mogue Curtis presided over the meeting, among the items discussed on the night were the plans for the Clubs annual trip.

It has been decided that this year the club will go to the Charleville Agri and Vintage show in Cork on Sunday 26th June. The bus will leave Raheen at 7am and the fare is €20, which will include breakfast. For further details please check out Shamrock-Vintage Wexford on Facebook or contact any Club member. Anyone who is interested in travelling should have their name and money in by Tuesday 21st June. Next Meeting will be held on June 21st.


The Adamstown Defibrillator Group held their first meeting on Wednesday 25th of May to discuss Public Access Defibrillators for the community. A committee was formed and the following were elected: Chairman - John Furlong, Secretary - Catriona Whelan, Treasurer - Catherine Kelly. The training coordinator is Aileen O'Neill. It was decided to get advice from the Irish Heart Foundation about the best way forward to having Automatic External Defibrillators (AED'd) in the area.


Colaiste Abbain held their Awards Ceremony in the College on Thursday 26th of May. The following students received awards:

Joseph Ring - English/Woodwork/T.G. and Metalwork. Christopher Redmond - Music. Nicole O'Dowd - Geography and Music. Thomas Ring - French/Woodwork and T.G. Stephanie Sinnott - Irish. Maggie Connors - Home Economics. Daniel Thorpe - English and Geography. David Buckley - Irish. Collette Ring - English/Biology/Home Economics/Senior Prism Maths Competition and Best Junior Certificate Results 2010. Theresa ring - English/Art and Senior Girls Athletics. Emma Doyle -FastforWords.

Students who took an extra subject at Leaving Certificate - Brid Bradley and Leanne Hennessey. Missed No Days in 5th Year - Brid Bradley. Class Teacher Award - 1st Year - Kevin Delaney, 5th Year - David Buckley, 6th Year Rachel Cooney. Debating and Public Speaking - Brid Bradley. Co Wexford Youth Council - Philip Coady, Dillon Doyle.

6th Year Meitheal Leader - Brid Bradley, Rachel Cooney. School Magazine - David Buckley, Philip Coady, Emma Delaney, Dean Doyle, Dillon Doyle, John Doyle, Peter Aidan Thorpe and Colette Ring. LCVP Awards - Emma Delaney, Dean Doyle, Dillon Doyle, David Buckley, Brid Bradley and Leanne Hennessey. SportBoys: Daniel Thorpe, John Doyle, Dean Sinnott, Thomas Ring, Kevin Delaney and Christopher Redmond. Sport-Girls: Stephanie Sinnott. Student of the Year - Brid Bradley. Congratulations and Well done to all.


The weekly "30" Card Game continues in the Community Centre this Friday 17th of June at 9.00 pm. There is €220 in prize money on offer each week. Thanks to the ladies for the teas last week. Catering on the night will be: Nora Furlong, Dympna Bradley and Margo O'Reilly - Coonogue. Catering for the following Friday 24th June will be: Bridget Boland, Patricia Furlong, Edel English and Fiona Power - Coonogue. Proceeds will be going to the Parish Funds.

Card winners on Friday 3rd of June were as follows: Nick Doyle, Andy Reville, John O'Brien, Johnny Furlong, Tom Rochford, Matt O'Neill, Pat Byrne, Johnny Nolan, Phil Jackman, Mick Kelly, Chris Byrne and Lena Whelan. Sending get well wishes to Kate Power from all the card players and hoping she will be back again in their company.


The ICA will hold their monthly meeting in the Community Centre on Wednesday 15th of June at 8.00 pm.


Best of luck to all local students who are sitting their Junior and Leaving Certificate Exams over the coming weeks.


Congratulations and well done to the Furlong brothers James and Sean from Misterin who have been awarded GAA scholarships to the Gaelteacht. The scholarships are funded by Wexford GAA and the local GAA club with a contribution also from the parents. Their names were picked amongst others from a number of entrants from clubs all over county Wexford and we wish them well as they travel west at the end of June.


The local GAA club are organising a fundraising night out at the dogs in Enniscorthy track for Thursday 23rd June and are hoping for good support. Tickets for admission and a buster draw can be obtained locally from any of the local players or club members at a cost of €10. The bar will be opened from 8.00 pm and further information can be obtained by contacting Adrian Morrissey on 083 4271623 or Tommie Furlong on 087 6552132.


Recent incidents of egg and flour throwing in the Parish are new phenomena which are most undesirable. Knocking at the doors of elderly people is also despicable and we all hope that these practices will be discouraged and discontinued.


The Prayer Group meets every Sunday in St Abbans Oratory from 7.00 pm to 8.00 pm, all are welcome.

Daily Mass at 9.30 am (unless otherwise stated). Adoration from every Monday to every Friday at 7.00 pm to 8.00 pm.


Saturday 18th of June Mass at 8.00 pm – John Power, the Leap (A) May He Rest in Peace.


Saturday 18th of June Vigil Mass at 8.00 pm – Ann Foley.Sunday 19th of June (Trinity Sunday) Mass at 10.30 am – Betty O'Shea


Sincere sympathy is extended to Nancy and Michael Lambert and family of Adamstown on the death of Nancy's Brother-in-law Maurice Doyle of South knock, New Ross who died recently. His funeral mass took place in the Parish Church of New Ross with burial afterwards in Taghmon Cemetery. May he rest in Peace.

Most Read