Monday 18 February 2019

Talented artists and writers get their county awards

Under 16 Art Girls: Tara Nolan, of Rathgarogue/Cushinstown, was the winner of the silver medal
Under 16 Art Girls: Tara Nolan, of Rathgarogue/Cushinstown, was the winner of the silver medal
Under 12 Art Boys: Seamie Whelan (Clongeen) Bronze, Tom Burke, Glenbrien (Castlebridge/ Crossabegarea) Gold, and Darren McGovern (Kilrush/Askamore) Silver

Brendan Keane

The winners in this year's Community Games art and handwriting competitions were presented with their medals last week at a function in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.

The presentation ceremony was the culmination of Castlebridge-Crossabeg Community Games Committee recently hosting the finals in Castlebridge National School - where the show of talent on display was exceptional.

The Wexford Community Games (WCG) PRO, Anne Cowman, expressed gratitude on behalf of the committee to all of the children who attended on the day. She also acknowledged those who carried out roles in support of the committee including the tea-makers and people who acted as stewards.

Ms Cowman also said the committee was very appreciative of being able to avail of the school building to host the finals. Praise was also extended to the judges, who gave their time freely to select winners in both events. There were scenes of great excitement at the presentation ceremony where the medals were handed out by the County President, Margaret McDermott.

The judges were very impressed with the high standard of entries in both categories and with regard to the handwriting competition they noted the fact that some of the competitors were only 8-years-of-age while also being very impressed with the standard of entries in the U10 and U12 sections.

Over 60 children competed in the events and the handwriting results were composed of: U10 Boys: 1 - Jonathan Winters, Castlebridge/Crossabeg; 2 - Conor Kilkenny, Clongeen; 3 - Sean O`Connor, Piercestown/Murrintown; U12 Boys: 1 - Conor Somers, Castlebridge/Crossabeg; 2 - Cian McCormack, Castlebridge/Crossabeg; 3 - Cillian O`Leary, Castlebridge/Crossabeg; U10 Girls: 1 - Abby Dooley, Castlebridge/Crossabeg; 2 - Nadia Duffy, Kilrush/Askamore; 3 - Ruth Doyle, Glynn/Barntown; U12 Girls: 1 - Lauren Cullen, Clongeen; 2 - Laura McCarthy, Clongeen; 3 - Emily Dunne, Bree/Davidstown.

In the County Art Competition the overall standard was, again, exceptionally high. The competitors came from the local Castlebridge-Crossabeg areas in addition to Bree/Davidstown, Clongeen, Kilrush/Askamore, Piercestown/Murrintown, Rathgarogue/Cushinstown, Glynn/Barntown, BBBCR and Taghmon.

The overall list of winners was composed of: U8 Boys: 1 - Fred Devereux, Bree/Davidstown; 2 - Caylum O`Sullivan, Clongeen; 3 - Matthew Murphy, Bree/Davidstown; U10: 1 - Oisin Harte, Bree/Davidstown; 2 - Sam Devereux, Bree/Davidstown; 3 - Callum Gardiner, Clongeen; U12: 1 - Tom Burke, Castlebridge/Crossabeg; 2 - Darren McGovern, Kilrush/Askamore; 3 - Seamie Whelan, Clongeen; U14: 1 - Ros Walker, Castlebridge/Crossabeg; 2 - Ben Quinsey, Castlebridge/Crossabeg; 3 - Michael Butler, Kilrush/Askamore; U8 Girls: 1 - Sophie Redmond, Clongeen; 2 - Niamh Kehoe, Clongeen; 3 - Zoe Byrne, Clongeen; U10: 1 - Clodagh Roche, Glynn/Barntown; 2 - Emma Reville, Clongeen; 3 - (Joint) Grace Bolger, Rathgarogue/Cushinstown and Yvette Carley, Castlebridge/Crossabeg; U12: 1 - Anna Jeffers, Piercestown/Murrintown; 2 - Eabha Bowe, Castlebridge/Crossabeg; 3 - (Joint) Aoife Kehoe, Clongeen and Lucy Mullins, Clongeen; U14: 1 - Dara Kelly, Piercestown/Murrintown; 2 - Caitlin Murphy, Clongeen; 3 - Caitlin Murray, Piercestown/Murrintown; U16: 1 - Kate Byrne, BBBCR and 2 - Tara Nolan, Rathgarogue/Cushinstown.

The local winners will now go forward to represent County Wexford in the national finals in the University of Limerick at the end of May.

Wexford People

Most Read