Friday 16 November 2018

Battle for final position

Cody Doran, Aoibhe Donegan, Michael Humphry and Odin Doyle of Bree.
Cody Doran, Aoibhe Donegan, Michael Humphry and Odin Doyle of Bree.
Katie Bolger, Eva Casey, Fiona Davin and Grace O'Keeffe from the Ballygarrett Area.
Nathan Roche, Grace McGuire, Tadhg Murphy and Aodhan Collins of Piercestown/Murrintown.
Emma O'Leary, Sarah Nolan, Zoe Wildes and Jimmy O'Keeffe representing Glynn.
Jodie Morrissey, Alanah Lambert, Bronwyn Roche and Ella Barry of Crossabeg/Castlebridge .
Hazel O'Keeffe, Rachel Hussey, Becky Cashin and Andrea Cashin of Taghmon .
Finn Waters, Sean O'Brien, Sean Barry and Diarmuid Barry of Rathgarogue/Cushinstown.
Mark Bates, Sophie Doyle, Bobby Nolan and Rachel Redburn, Ring of Hook .
Jessica Ruane, Val Whitty and Grace Hormick of Taghmon.
Dan Nolan, Gary Mernagh and Luke Amos of Ring of Hook.

The Community Games under 14 table quiz was on in the Ferrycarrig Hotel last week in hope of finding a winning team to represent the County at the national finals.

Organised by Castlebridge/Crossabeg committee, a total of 21 teams took part in the competition to try and get to the final.

'It was good to see an increase in the number competing this year and lets hope it continues to grow,' said PRO Anne Cowman.

There were nine areas in total represented at the quiz - Bree/Davidstown, Taghmon, Rathgarogue/Cushinstown, Castlebridge/Crossabeg, Ring of Hook, Piercestown/Murrintown. Kilrush/Askamore, BBBCR (Ballycanew), and Glynn/Barntown.

The questions were compiled by Jim Doyle, who also acted as the quiz master for the night.

'The standard of answering was very high with the winners getting a total of 93 points at the end of the 10 rounds of 10 questions.

'This team was from the Piercestown/Murrintown area who had a steady nine and 10 correct answers in each round in the competition,' said Anne.

Representatives for Ring of Hook came second with 89 points and the team representing Kilrush/Askamore came third with 88 points.

'There were many other teams who finished in the 80`s, so well done to all concerned,' said Anne.

The winning team - Grace McGuire, Aodhan Collins, Tadhg Murphy and Nathan Roche - will now go forward to represent the county at the national finals that will be held in Dublin on May 6.

Wexford People

Most Read