Saturday 17 August 2019

Bishop at St Peter's awards gives motivational speech to students

Deputy principal John Banville with sub senior Barry O'Connor and senior Carl Reardon.
Deputy principal John Banville with sub senior Barry O'Connor and senior Carl Reardon.
Student of the Year Award winner Barry O'Connor with Ellen O'Connor and George O'Connor.
The Colm McLoughlin Memorial Award. Bishop Denis Brennan, Yvonne Byrne, joint winner Peadar Byrne, and Seán Byrne.
The Gold Medal for Outstanding Results in the Junior Cert. Back: Garbhan Mac Cormack, Ross Banville, Jack Hayden, Peadar Byrne, Jordon Rossiter and Cian Ó Feinneadha. Front: Mgr Joe McGrath, Bishop Denis Brennan, principal Robert O'Callaghan and deputy principal John Banville.
The Senior Sportsman of the Year Award. Principal Robert O'Callaghan, Patricia O'Connor, award winner Rory O'Connor, and John O'Connor.
Mary Firman, senior football captain Conor Firman, and David Firman.

By Sara Gahan

Parents, staff and students gathered for the St Peter's College, Wexford, end-of-year Mass and awards ceremony in Bride Street Church, where more than 100 students were presented with an award for their achievements.

Bishop Denis Brennan was the principal celebrant of the Mass for the students of St Peter's and was assisted by the school chaplain Fr Aodhan Marken and Fr Joe McGrath.

At the Mass ceremony, Bishop Brennan told a story of a student who won an art competition with a picture entitled 'My Future is Not Written Yet'.

Bishop Brennan told the Leaving Cert students not to be afraid of their futures: he told them they have the tools, qualities and values to shape it and make it good.

Following the Mass, the awards ceremony was held and principal Robert O'Callaghan welcomed Bishop Brennan, members of the board of management, the parents' council and the Past Pupils Union.

Mr O'Callaghan said in his address: 'I want to thank all the students for their hard work throughout the year and I want to sincerely thank the staff for their on-going commitment and dedication to our boys.

'Today marks the culmination of the Leaving Certs' journey through St Peter's College, and on behalf of everyone here I want to congratulate them.'

Student of the Year went to Barry O'Connor, who received his ward from president of the Past Pupils' Union Michael Breen. Barry is the current Sub Senior, a Meitheal leader, gold medal winner and member of the student council. He is a talented sportsman and was on this year's senior football team. He is friendly and outgoing, an example to younger students, and respected by teachers and students alike.

For the Colm McLoughlin Memorial Award, this year the award was shared between Ben Bone and Peadar Byrne. The award was inaugurated to commemorate Colm, a young man of outstanding qualities who died suddenly in 1996 while a student in the school. The award is given to the student who receives the highest mark in science in the Junior Cert each year.

TY students were also presented with their portfolios of achievements.

The team of students who collaborated to produce 'Write Away Magazine' were presented with awards.

all the recipients - see page 30


Student of the Year Nominees: David Gouldson, Liam Jowett, Kyle Lambert, Barry O'Connor, Carl Reardon and Joe Wickham. Student of the Year: Barry O'Connor.

Colm McLoughlin Memorial Award: Ben Bone and Peadar Byrne.

Junior Cert Gold Medals: Peadar Byrne, Garbhan MacCormack, Jack Hayden, Ross Banville, Cian O'Feinneadha and Jordan Rossiter.

Past Pupils' Union Achievement Awards: Neil Gordon, Mark Henebery, Walter Ronan, Frank Ronan, Martin O'Connor, Patrick Cullen, Conor Murphy and Dylan Walsh.

Students' Council: Ronan Devereux, Carl Reardon, David Gouldson, Conor Gormley, Liam O'Connor, Nathan O'Hanlon, David Hearne, John Crosbie, Barry O'Connor, Brian Mitchell, Padraig McGuinley, Sean Byrne, Conall Crowley, David O'Boyle, Lenard Gaul and Michael O'Leary.

Meitheal Certificates: Barry O'Connor, Conor Gormley, David Gouldson, Fionn Roche, Callum Quirke, Brian Mitchell, Ciaran Murphy, Evan Kinlough, Ulliam Kinsella, Diarmuid Brown, Liam Jowett, Eoin O'Callaghan, Carl Reardon, Kenneth Riordan and Finn O'Driscoll.

Senior Sportsman of the Year 2017: Rory O'Connor.

Basketball: Senior team, the under-16 team and the first year team were crowned Wexford League Champions; the second year team were runners-up.

Gaelic Games: Presentations were made to senior football captain Conor Firman and senior hurling captain Rory O'Connor.

Badminton: The Seniors were Wexford Division 3 winners, the first Juniors were Division 2 winners, the second Juniors were Division 3 winners and the Juvenile were Wexford Division 1 winners.

First Year Hurling Skills Award: Michael Butler.

Athletics: Liam Turner, Barry Doyle, Shane Parle, Dylan Furlong, Sky Moroney, Peter O'Shea, James Boggan, Sean Cooling, Darragh Whelan and Christopher Brennan.

Junior Sportsman of the Year: Corben Brown.

Swimming: Darragh Sinnott, David Matthews, Stuart Vaughan and Liam Devaney.

Table Tennis: Kevin Culleton and Cathal Gormley.

Equestrian: Dylan Moore, Patrick Cullen, Sean Staples, Edmond Cleary, Frank Ronan, Walter Ronan, Eoin Whelan and James Cullen.

Art: Finn O'Driscoll, Billy Ryan, Conor Hillis, Matthew Burke, Derek Dodebier, Cian Bates, Ian Corrigan, Eoghan Kirby, Hugo Lynn, Louis Pinaqui, Darragh Furlong and Josh O'Callaghan.

German and Linguistics: Aaron Breen, Alex Denby, Eoghan Kirby, Cathal O'Gara, Joe Wickham and Conor Hillis.

Science: Joe Wickham, Carl Reardon, Ger Dempsey, Matthew Burke, Rory O'Connor, Cian Ryan and James Kelly.

Debating: Ulliam Kinsella, Patrick Afolabi-Joseph, Eoin Pinaqui, Robin Jowett, William Sheehan, Lenard Gaul, Dillion Cousins and Liam Turner.

Rotary Leadership Competition: Eoin Pinaqui.

TY Enterprise Awards: Thomas Devereux, Chris Glover, Oisin Fortune, Peadar Byrne, John Gilhooley and Alex Denby.

Write Away Magazine: Jack Campbell, Martin Foley, Robin Jowett, Dean O'Brien, Ruairí O'Sullivan, Cillian Walsh and Ryan Wardick.

Wexford People

Most Read