independent

Saturday 21 September 2019

Bishop to attend 27 Confirmations

By David Medcalf

This year's candidates for confirmation by the Roman Catholic church in the diocese of Ferns have a better than even chance that Bishop Denis Brennan will be in charge of the ceremony,

The schedule of confirmations over the three months from March to May has just been released by the diocesan office at Summerhill in Wexford.

It shows that the bishop will preside at 27 of the 45 services which will be staged this year, though he will be represented in 18 cases by colleagues.

The church came in for some criticism in 2014 from families disgruntled to find that their offspring would not be confirmed by the head of the diocese.

Spokesman Father John Carroll insisted that the recent announcement does not mark any change of policy on the part of Bishop Brennan who loves carrying out the confirmations.

'It's just the way it falls,' said Father John. 'He does all of them (the parishes) at least once every second year.'

Others lined up to conduct the rite are Monsignor Joseph McGrath, Monsignor Denis Lennon, Father Willie Howell and Father Brian Broaders.

The full schedule is:

Friday, March 6: Riverchapel (Bishop Brennan); Marshalstown (Father Howell); Saturday, March 7: St Aidan's Cathedral, Enniscorthy (Bishop Brennan); Wednesday, March 11: Camolin (Bishop Brennan); Ballyoughter (Bishop Brennan);Murrintown (Monsignor Lennon); Thursday, March 12: Kilrane (Monsignor); Friday, March 13: Rathgarogue (Monsignor McGrath); Saturday, March 14: St Senan's, Enniscorthy (Bishop Brennan); Sunday, March 15: Blackwater (Bishop Brennan); Friday, March 20: Newbawn (Bishop Brennan); Raheen (Bishop Brennan); Saturday, March 21: Barntown (Monsignor Lennon); Rathangan (Bishop Brennan); Sunday, March 22: Kilrush (Bishop Brennan); Wednesday, March 25: Lady's Island (Bishop Brennan); Thursday, March 26: Ballygarrett (Father Howell); Cloughbawn (Bishop Brennan); Poulpeasty (Bishop Brennan); Friday, March 27: Kilmore (Monsignor Lennon); Saturday, March 28: Castlebridge (Father Howell); Oulart (Bishop Brennan); The Ballagh (Bishop Brennan); Saturday, April 18 (Bishop Brennan); Tuesday, April 21: St Patrick's Special School, Enniscorthy (Bishop Brennan); Thursday, April 23: Clonard, Scoil Mhuire (Bishop Brennan); Friday, April 24: Clonard, Kennedy Park (Bishop Brennan); Bannow (Monsignor McGrath); Saturday, April 25: New Ross (Bishop Brennan); Thursday, April 30: Oylegate (Father Broaders); Glenbrien (Father Broaders); Friday, May 1: Kilanerin (Bishop Brennan); Saturday May 2: Taghmon (Bishop Brennan); Sunday, May 3: Annacurra (Bishop Brennan); Thursday, May 7: Tara Hill (Bishop Brennan); Friday, May 8: Gorey (Bishop Brennan); Friday, May 8: Duncannon (Monsignor McGrath); Saturday, May 9: Wexford (Bishop Brennan); Sunday, May 10: (Bishop Brennan); Wednesday, May 13: Our Lady of Fatima School, Wexford (Bishop Brennan); Saturday, May 16: Gorey Gael Scoil (Father Howell); Thursday, May 28: Piercestown (Monsignor McGrath); Saturday, June 6: Glynn (Bishop Brennan).

Wexford People

Most Read

News