Monday 27 January 2020

Eleven new faces on county council

New-look local authority to meet for the first time after local elections

Aidan Browne, Fianna Fáil
Aidan Browne, Fianna Fáil
Bridín Murphy, Fine Gael
Leonard Kelly, Independent
Maura Bell, Labour Party
Cathal Byrne, Fine Gael
Diarmuid Devereux, Fine Gael
Donal Kenny, Fianna Fáil
Gary Laffan, Fianna Fáil
Jackser Owens, Independent
Jim Codd, Aontú
Pat Barden, Independent

Pádraig Byrne

There will be quite a few new faces in Wexford County Council's Chambers on Friday afternoon as a new-look council meets for the very first time. A total of 34 councillors were elected following a busy election weekend and of these, 11 are brand new to the role.

With a number of outgoing Councillors not seeking re-election, at least three new faces were guaranteed on the new Council. However, eleven new councillors will take their seats when the 2019-2024 Council meets for the first time on Friday. Six of the 34 councillors are women, an increase of one from last time out.

The Wexford District saw three new councillors elected. Independent Leonard Kelly polled extremely well and was third past the post, while Labour's Maura Bell and Fianna Fáil's Garry Laffan will also take their seats for the first time. John Hegarty, meanwhile, will sit for the first time in the Wexford district having made the switch from Gorey and they will all join poll topper George Lawlor, independent Davy Hynes and Sinn Féin's Tom Forde.

The new Rosslare District sees only one new councillor in the form of Aontú's Jim Codd. He joins poll-topper Ger Carthy, Fine Gael's Frank Staples and Jim Moore and Fianna Fáil's Lisa McDonald to complete the new district.

Enniscorthy was a District which saw a few political stalwarts make way for new blood. Fianna Fáil's Aidan Browne and Fine Gael's Cathal Byrne were delighted to make it in, as was independent Jackser Owens who previously served on the town council. They join poll-topper Kathleen Codd Nolan (FG), Barbara Anne Murphy (FF) and John O'Rourke (IND).

There were no new faces in the new Kilmuckridge District, with four sitting councillors retaining their seats - Pip Breen (FF), Mary Farrell (IND), Oliver Walsh (FG) and Willie Kavanagh (FF).

In Gorey, Diarmuid Devereux (FG) and Donal Kenny (FF) were the newcomers, joining Fianna Fáil's Malcolm Byrne and Joe Sullivan, Fine Gael's Anthony Donohoe and Sinn Féin's Fionntán Ó'Súilleabháin.

New Ross's newbies were poll-topping independent Patrick Barden and Fine Gael's Brídín Murphy who joined Anthony Connick (IND) and Fianna Fáil trio Michael Sheehan, John Fleming and Michael Whelan.

Fresh-faced and veteran councillors will meet as a council for the first time on Friday, when a new Cathaoirleach and Leas-Cathaoirleach of Wexford County Council will be elected.

Wexford People

Most Read