Monday 19 August 2019

Entrepreneurial spirit rewarded

THE ENTREPRENEURIAL spirit of Wexford students was praised in White's Hotel last Monday night as the X-cel Student Enterprise Awards took place.

This joint initiative between the Wexford County Enterprise Board and Innovation Wexford saw over 750 students set up and run their own minienterprises over a period of eight months.

The Schools Coordinator Emer Doyle provided business workshops to develop the students business and communications skills.

Video clips were shown at the ceremony of all the nominees, which clearly showed just how creative and impressive their businesses were.

' The enthusiasm and can do attitude of our students bodes well for future enterprise in Wexford. Now more than ever we need to support and encourage our young people to reach their maximum potential and this programme is ideally suited to developing strong business skills,' said Breege Cosgrave, Project Manager at the ceremony, which was attended by over 300 people.

The overall senior winner was 'All About Timing' from St. Peter's College Wexford who will go on to represent Wexford at the National Student Enterprise Awards in Croke Park. It is fitting that the project involves making handcrafted clocks made out of recycled hurleys.

A plethora of prizes were presented during the ceremony with Ewelin Bartos and Katie Byrne from Enniscorthy Vocational College winning the Junior Section for their Creating ISPCA Awareness project.

The Youth Café Marketing Campaign award jointly went to The Bomb Café team of Lauren Dunbar, Jamie Farrell, Dean Farrell, Deborah Murphy, Kyra Redmond, Maria Fitzpatrick, Becky Raleigh and Shannon Murphy from Bunclody Vocational College and to the Safe Haven team of Katie Binnions, Madara Deine, Ashley Jarman, Roisin Ryan and Rhianna Symes from Enniscorthy Vocational College.

Daniel Moore, James Fortune and Enda Fitzpatrick from the Grafaic team in Bunclody Vocational College won the LCVP section, while the All About Timing team of Jamie Carty, Edward O'Byrne and Jack O'Connor from St. Peter's College won the Senior Section.

Merit Awards went to William Astley from Ramsgrange Community School, Adam Ennis and Mark Bailey from Wexford CBS, Aaron Staunton, Barry Murphy, Carrie Hanrahan, Danielle Walsh, Dillon Leacy, Dwayne Nugent, James Hynds, Limara Leacy, Robert Webster, Ryan Daly, Ryan Holt, Samantha Power, Shannon Doyle and Shauna Newport from Wexford Vocational College, Aoife Ni Dhuill from Meanscoil Gharman, Lauren Cushe, Aileen Doyle and Catriona Fitzgerald from Gorey Community School, and to Aaron Staunton, Barry Murphy, Carrie Harahan, Danielle Walsh, Dillon Leacy, Dwayne Nugent, James Hynds, Limara Leacy, Robert Webster, Ryan Daly, Ryan Holt, Samantha Power, Shannon Doyle and Shauna Newport.

The Environmental Category winner was the New Generation Mini Company of Kelly Chan, Kelly Dalton, Cara McDonald, Rebecca Redmond, Jenny Young from the Presentation Secondary School.

The Helping Hand Promotions team of James Cooper, Dylan Groarke, Martin Kehoe, Robert Frayne from Enniscorthy CBS won the Best Display award and special awards for Enterprise Educator 2011 went to Clara Murtagh from St. Peter's College, to Dara Gahan from Wexford Campus for having the Overall Outstanding Business Plan 2011 and to Jacqueline Waters from Wexford Campus for the Runner-Up Business Plan 2011.

Gorey & Wexford Credit Unions were the main sponsors of the programme and associate sponsors were, The Environmental Protection Agency, Graphedia Ltd. A new award category 'Marketing Campaign for a Youth Café' was also sponsored by the Office of the Minister for Children & Youth Affairs.

Most Read