Saturday 21 September 2019

Kings of the road at county championships

Competitors hit the road.
Competitors hit the road.
Race director, Derek Webb, with his daughter, Millie.
Lee Pyke, South East Road Club.
County championships road race; Lee Pyke, South East Road Club.
Brendan Dunne, Kevin Ryan and Darren Davitt, of Gorey Cycling Club.
Michael O' Brien, Wexford Wheelers, and Phil Shelton, Slaney Cycling Club.
Michael Doyle and Shane Kelly, Rossbury Racing, New Ross.

By Esther Hayden

The recent Wexford County Road Race championships was a great success.

Organised by Gorey Cycling Club the race drew entrants from all over the county.

The race was won by Martin Mizgajski - Rossbury Racing (New Ross) while second place went to Declan Kinch - Slipstream Cycling Club (Gorey). Third place went to Paul Kinch - Slipstream Cycling Club (Gorey).

The first A4 rider was Cathal Glackin - Gorey Cycling Club (Gorey) and the first Junior Rider was Fionn Jordan - Slaney Cycling Club (Enniscorthy).

Gorey Cycling Club extended thanks to everyone involved making particular mention of all the marshals and moto riders and lead cars on the course, to Oakfield Nursing Home for providing the services of a registered nurse and Diamond Windscreens for driving her around the course.

Special mention alos went to club secretary Derek Webb for all his organisation, without whom there would be no race and not forgetting the riders who slogged it out for five laps of a tough but exciting course.

All the competitors were treated to refreshments and some Wexford strawberries with fresh cream after the post-race prize giving.

Wexford People

Most Read