Monday 19 August 2019

Michael crowned 'swimmer of year'

Mary Duggan (coach), Olivia Middleton (most improved swimmer), Cameron Steel (most achievement in the year) and club chairman Nicholas Kearns.
Mary Duggan (coach), Olivia Middleton (most improved swimmer), Cameron Steel (most achievement in the year) and club chairman Nicholas Kearns.


WEXFORD SWIMMING CLUB stopped splashing around for one night acknowledge the achievement of the club's young swimmers.

During an end-of-year barbecue held at the Piercestown Scout and Guide Hall, a long list of awards were handed out to those who demonstrated a high level of commitment to training. The 'Swimmer of the Year' accolade was presented to Michael Feeney.

Meanwhile, Cameron Steel received an award for the swimmer with that had racked up the most achievements.

The prize for the title of 'Most Improved Swimmer' was Olivia Middleton and Emily Kilgannon was presented with the prize for the best attendance. A number of awards were also handed out to individual squads which performed particularly well during the season. From Squad D Sean Maddock was name the 'Best Boy', whilst Mikey Procter got the runner's up prize in this category. Roisin O'Reilly was named 'Best Girl' and Sophie Mahon took the runner's up spot. Squad C was represented by their 'Best Boy' which was Michael Leddy and Keane Kehoe was hot on his heels in the runner's up place. The 'Best Girl' from this squad was Aimee Sterling. Meanwhile the female runner up was Tamara Mahon.

In Squad B Stuart Vaughan picked up the 'Best Boy' prize. Adam Mahon was selected as the runner up. The 'Best Girl' prize went to Jessica Devaney and Aoife Cassidy took the runner's up award. Squad AB had Darragh Sinnott as their 'Best Boy' and Mathew Arthur took the runner's up prize. Aoife Long was happy to be named 'Best Girl' and Egle Matuzaite was the runner up.

The 'Best Boy' from Squad A was Cameron Steel and Sean Maher followed as runner up. Georgina Steel was the squad's 'Best Girl'.

A separate set of awards were handed out to those who maintained more than 90% attendance throughout the season.

From Squad D these certificates went to Kaylem Codd, Dillon Cousins, Sean Maddock, Tadgh Hogan, Sophie Mahon and Maebh Hogan.

Those with the best attendance from Squad C were Valerie Morozova, Oran Cleary, Angelo Micelescu, Sam Lynch and Michael Leacy.

Squad B's attendance awards went to Aoife Cassidy, David Matthews, Jessica Devaney, Liam Devaney and Adam Mahon.

Similarly attendance awards were given out to Egle Matzuate, Aoife Long, Emily Kilgannon, Darragh Sinnott and Leah McGuire from Squad AB.

The final set of prizes handed out were the land training awards which went to Angelo Miculesou, Liam Devaney, Olivia Midleton, Leah McGuire, Aoife Cassidy, Egle Matzuate, Emily Kilgannon, Valerie Morozova and Denis Micelescu.

Most Read