Thursday 22 August 2019

New crime task force seeks new members

Cllr Michael Whelan
Cllr Michael Whelan

NEWBIE Cllr Michael Whelan was elected as chairperson of the Joint Policing Committee (JPC).

Cllr Whelan, from Ballycullane, was proposed by his fellow Fianna Fáil Cllr John Fleming and seconded by Fine Gael Cllr Jim Moore.

Fine Gael Cllr Willie Fitzharris was elected vice chairperson.

Both councillors join Chief Superintendent John Roche and a director of services on the steering committee.

The committee is looking for seven committee members from community alert and action groups. Margaret Quinn of Munitir na Tire, Amy Fitzgerald from the victims against crime group and Declan Dunbar from North Wexford were put forward for the committee.

Anyone interested in joining the committee can contact County Hall on 053 9196000.

During a debate on who should be involved in the steering committee, Deputy John Browne asked if there is a lack of staff to accommodate area policing meetings, which he described as being far more informative and successful in terms of tackling crime related issues than the conty JPC.

County Secretary Pat Collins said the local policing forum could be reinstated and used to informally discuss issues.

Mr Collins said: 'There is a resource issue and more meetings means more staff (being required).' Cllr Ger Carthy said the newly appointed municipal district managers for the four areas could arrange the meetings. 'It's not a major issue.'

Deputy Browne agreed, saying: 'It's more important now than ever before.'

Wexford People

Most Read