Tuesday 23 January 2018

Ten post offices have closed in Wexford in less than a decade

Esther Hayden

Ten local communities across Wexford have seen their local post office close down in the last number of years, Deputy Mick Wallace told the Dail last week.

The Wexford TD said that at least ten post offices in rural Wexford have closed since 2006 and many more are at serious risk unless the Government does something to protect the post office network.

Deputy Wallace said The Department of Social Protection was undermining the potential of the post office network to continue to be sustainable by issuing letters to 7,000 pensioners and other social welfare recipients encouraging them to switch to transferring funds electronically into their bank accounts.

Tomhaggard, Pallas, Crossabeg, Ballymurn, Ballyhogue, Gusserane, Ballycarney/Castledockrell, Duncormick, Ballymitty and Rathnure are all rural communities that have lost this vital service. 'There is a serious devastation of rural areas in Wexford and other parts of the country,' the Independent TD said.

Wallace called on the Minister for Communications, Energy and Natural Resources Alex White to 'be proactive and decide that no more post offices will close'.

He said the Government should examine re-opening some post offices even though it may not be financially, because the social benefit to rural communities had to be considered, not ignored.

'There is a serious lack of joined-up thinking in the Government. The Minister claims he is in favour of keeping post offices while the Department of Social Protection sends out letters that will undermine them.'

Wexford People

Promoted Links