Saturday 20 January 2018

Two candidates eliminated in Wexford after the first count

By Esther Hayden

No candidate has been elected in Wexford after the first count.

At around 6.45pm the first count results were announced with Minister Brendan Howlin bucking the national trend for Labour and topping the poll with 10,574 votes.

He was followed by Cllr James Browne who secured 9,827 first preference votes while Deputy Mick Wallace received 7,917 votes.

Senator Mick D'Arcy received 7,798 votes followed by Deputy Paul Kehoe on 7,696 votes and Sinn Fein councillor Johnny Mythen getting 7,260 votes.

Fianna Fail's Malcolm Byrne received 6,115 votes while running mate Aoife Byrne received 3,164 votes.

Mayor of Wexford Ger Carthy received 3,134 votes with Leonard Kelly of the Social Democrats picking up 1,635 votes.

Cllr Deirdre Wadding picking up 1,472 first preference votes and Independent John Dwyer received 1,265.

Julie Hogan of Fine Gael received 1,214 votes while Ann Walsh of the Green Party received 1,056.

The remaining votes went to Caroline Foxe (930), Emmet Moloney (476) and David Lloyd (128).

David Lloyd and Emmet Moloney were eliminated and their votes are now being counted and distributed.

Online Editors

Promoted Links