Thursday 22 August 2019

Wexford's young Fine Gael win top award

Members of Wexford Young Fine Gael with the award.
Members of Wexford Young Fine Gael with the award.

David Tucker

Wexford Young Fine Gael were awarded the national 'Branch Of the Year' award At the recent Garret Fitzgerald Summer School held in Lisdoonvarna, County Clare.

This prestigious award marks a very successful year for the Wexford branch on a national and regional level.

Successes on a national level include the election of Cathal Byrne, of Bree, as National Secretary, topping the poll of five candidates after 330 votes had been cast, and the re-election of Ciaran Allen of Wexford Town, as Leinster Regional Organiser.

Two other members - Ethan Campbell and Steven Murphy were also elected to the Leinster Regional Council. With an active membership of approximately 30 young people, Wexford Young Fine Gael has gone from strength to strength in recent times.

A nationwide campaign to secure enactment of the Capacity Bill, 'Capacity2Change', was formed by two Wexford members, Rachel Kidd, of Camolin and Patricia Kenny, of Craanford.

Wexford People

Most Read