Friday 24 May 2019

Bridge win on the double at drama finals

Brian Sheridan
Brian Sheridan
Yvonne Murphy

Anna Hayes

Local thespians Bridge Drama Group were the big Wexford winners at the recent All Ireland Drama Finals in Athlone, where they finished third overall, winning two awards and securing a number of nominations.

Wexford was strongly represented at the finals with three groups taking to the stage of the Dean Crowe stage over the course of the ten days.

Kilmuckridge Drama Group presented their production of Conor McPherson's 'The Seafarer' which saw Michael Murphy receiving a nomination for Best Actor for his role as James 'Sharky' Harkin. Mairead Cummings was also nominated in the category of Best Stage Management.

Wexford Drama Group performed David Auburn's Pulitzer Prize winning play, 'Proof'.

2016 champions Bridge Drama continued their winning ways, with their production of Michael Cooney's 'Cash on Delivery', finishing in third place overall.

Group stalwart Yvonne Murphy won the award for Best Stage Management. Lead actor Brian Sheridan received a Best Actor nomination for his performance also also won one of three ADCI/DLI Scholarships. Nominations were also received by Trish Doyle for Best Director; and Myles Sunderland and Mairead Ryan for Best Stage Setting.

Speaking after the awards ceremony, director Trish Doyle said the group had greatly enjoyed the occasion.

'We knew we had a good adjudication but Prosperous, the winners, have been in the top three for many years. We were delighted with third place because farce is so difficult to maintain consistency. We had a few quiet drinks to celebrate - you can imagine!' she laughed.

This is the group's third time reaching the All Ireland finals - they were crowned All Ireland Champions in 2016 and previously picked up awards in 2013 as well.

Trish added that there was a number of new faces involved in the production here.

'It's my first time directing on the circuit; it was Myles' and Mairead's first time doing Stage Setting (which was built by Pat Curran) for the circuit; and we had a few new cast members as well. We were all delighted for Yvonne Murphy - she's been a member of the group since its inception 20 years and this is great recognition for her years of dedication.'

Wexford People

Most Read