Friday 19 January 2018

Changing of the guard at Wexford ICA

By Esther Hayden

Outgoing president, Breda Banville,with Wexford Federation ICA president elect, Deirdre Connery, of the Duncannon Guild.
Outgoing president, Breda Banville,with Wexford Federation ICA president elect, Deirdre Connery, of the Duncannon Guild.
The outgoing committee at Wexford Federation ICA's annual general meeting in Oulart Hall (front), Emily Murphy, Eileen Creevey, Breda Banville, Mary Fitzgerald, Dee Devereux and Joe Keane; (back), Mary D'Arcy, Deirdre Connery, Mary Somers, Mary Nolan, Brenda Dunne, Breda Whelan and Geraldine Mc Carthy.

There was a large attendance at the Wexford Federation of the ICA AGM in Oulart Hall.

The meeting was hosted by the Oulart Guild and the federation meeting was held on the same night.

The reports of the secretary, treasurer and president were outlined to the members and they heard that this year there was an increase in sponsorship as €6,000 will be presented at the National AGM to the refurbishment fund of An Grianan.

Breda Banville, President, said Wexford Federation now has 33 guilds with Castlebridge being the latest addition. Breda thanks all the members, officers and guilds for their support. She also thanked the Federation Committee and her own guild Camross, in particular Mary Nolan and Alice Whitty for their help.

Breda paid special thanks to Mary Fitzgerald and Eileen Creevey for all their work. The new federation officers are as follows: Deirdre Connery - President, Vice Presidents - Breda Banville and Mary Fitzgerald, Treasurer - Mary Nolan, Secretary - Mary Darcy, Sports Officer - Alice Whitty, Information Officers - Gretta O'Connor, Breda Banville, Mary Fitzgerald, Joan Furlong and Dee Devereux.

A competition secretary will be co-opted onto the committee. Breda welcomed Ann Kehoe as the new Timire. Joe Keane will continue as PRO and Geraldine McCarthy as water quality officer.

There was one vote on the night for Sports Officer, with two candidates standing, Alice Whitty and Catherine Dunleavy, with Alice winning the vote. Breda congratulated Dee Devereux on her recent appointment as Regional President of the South and East Region.

The Person of the Year award (Kay O'Leary trophy) was won by Eileen Creevey. Rose bushes were presented by Breda to the following officers who are standing down from their previous positions: Mary Darcy, Mary Nolan, Mary Somers, Breda Dunne, Eileen Creevey, Mary Fitzgerald and Breda Dunne.

Breda asked the incoming president, Deirdre Connery, to speak after she was presented with the chains of office.

Deirdre thanked Breda, Mary and Eileen for their hard work and said she is looking forward to working with the new committee. The meeting ended with the raffle and refreshments.

The gardening morning to be held date for the special occasion table competition has been changed to Wednesday June 10 and is kindly hosted by Adamstown Guild.

Wexford People

Promoted Links