Saturday 20 January 2018

Making all the right moves in county draughts final

Aoibhinn Creane, Bree
Aoibhinn Creane, Bree
Mogue O'Neill, Kilrush-Askamore
Moya Kavanagh, Kilrush-Askamore
Gracie Kehoe, Bree
Emily Dunne, Bree
Karen Tompkins, Kilrush-Askamore
Odhran Kehoe, Bree
Shay Doran Kilrush-Askamore

Wexford Community Games got the 2016 calendar of events under way recently with the county final of the Draughts competition in Bree Hall.

Participants as young as seven took part, with teams from Kilrush/Askamore dominating proceedings.

In the Under 10 competition, there were three teams, two of them from the Kilrush/Askamore area and the other team from Bree/Davidstown.

Kilrush/Askamore A team took on Bree/Davidstown with the more experienced Kilrush/Askamore side proving too strong for their opponents. Rian Buttle had a 3-1 win over Sarah O'Leary; then Tom Kirwan came through his game against Gavin Sinnott on a 4-0 scoreline, Shay Doran then set his teammates in a comfortable position with a 4-0 win over Emily Dunne. Maya Kavanagh drew 2-2 with Gracie Kehoe and Amy Cowman also drew 2-2 with Riona Kehoe.

That left Kilrush/Askamore the comfortable winners on a 15-5 scoreline. Kilrush/Askamore also had Laura Kehoe and Mogue O'Neill on their panel of players. The Kilrush/Askamore B team took on Bree/Davidstown. These teams were more evenly balanced. For Kilrush/Askamore Rachael Dee defeated Sarah O'Leary 4-0 while Sarah Kirwan drew 2-2 with her Gavin Sinnott.

Tommy Kehoe lost out 0-4 to Gracie Kehoe and at this stage the sides were level 6-6. Then Maebh Mimnagh drew 2-2 with Emily Dunne and it took Rory Dee to see his Kilrush/Askamore through when he overcame Riona Kehoe on 4-0 scoreline. The final score was 12-8 in favour of the Kilrush/Askamore team.

That left a meeting between the A and B team from the Kilrush/Askamore Area to see who would be crowned the 2016 Under 10 Draughts champions.

The A team were in command in this encounter with wins for Rian Buttle over Rachael Dee (4-0) Tom Kirwan (4-0) over Sarah Kirwan and Shay Doran (4-0) over Tommy Kehoe.

That put them comfortably 10-0 ahead. Maya Kavanagh drew 2-2 with Maebh Mimnagh and Amy Cowman lost out 0-4 to Rory Dee. But at this stage the competition was over and the A team were declared the county champions and winners of the gold medals.

The Under 12 competition was a straight final between two Kilrush/Askamore teams.

Robert Quinn got his A team off to a great start with a 4-0 win over Darragh O'Toole and teammate Sadhbh Buttle had a 4-0 win over Amber Walsh to see them go 8-0 up.

Then Karen Tomkins had a 3-1 win over Kate Butler and Niall Mimnagh had a 2-2 draw with Josh Doyle. Anna Tomkins lost out 0-4 to Darragh Dee and the game was over with a 13-7 victory to the A team, who were crowned county champions.

They also had Dean Black and David Kirwan on their panel while the B team who received the silver medals had Mark Devereux on their panel.

There was just one team in the Under 14 competition and that team was from Bree/Davidstown. Their team members are Michael Humphrey, Cormac Kehoe, Odin Doyle, Odhran Kehoe, Lucy Kehoe and Aoibhinn Creane.

Wexford People

Promoted Links