Sunday 15 December 2019

Recipients of creative awards and scholarships

Maria Pepper

The Arts Department of Wexford County Council has made a number of awards under the Creative Communities Programme during the past few months.

The scheme is run in partnership with Creative Ireland which provides 50% matched funding, up to a maximum of €3,000, to enable collaboration between artists and community groups.

A total of €58,000 was awarded to the following successful candidates for 2018 - Artbank in Bunclody, Raheen Family Resource Centre, The Wayside Players, Link Training and Support Services, Advocates for Autism, St. Aidan's Day Care Centre, Gap Arts Festival, Wexford Adult Mental Health Services, Ard Aoibhinn, Wexford Mental Health Association, Access 2000, Youth Train Community Training Centre, Family Carers Ireland, Wexford Documentary Film Festival, Cruhil Traveller Women's Group, Wexford Arts Centre, Irish Wheelchair Association, South West Wexford FRC, Grantstown Priory Schem and Youth New Ross.

Meanwhile the Tyrone Guthrie Centre Bursary has been awarded to Laura Hyland and Serena Caulfield.

This enables two artists who are resident in County Wexford to spend two weeks at the Tyrone Guthrie Centre at Annaghmakerrig, an artists' workplace in County Monaghan.

Each bursary covers all board and lodging expenses for a two-week period along with a contribution towards expenses and use of a studio if necessary.

Drama League of Ireland scholarships have been awarded to Tim Connaughton and Kathleen Byrne who will attend the organisatiohn's 53rd Residential Summer School taking place in Limerick from July 28 to August 4.

The scholarships are open to local amateur drama participants and drama society members.

Wexford People

Most Read