Sunday 19 November 2017

And they're off!

Cross-Country at Adamstown

Ross English (second) and Watt Crean (fifth) from Adamstown AC who competed in the U-11 boys race
Ross English (second) and Watt Crean (fifth) from Adamstown AC who competed in the U-11 boys race
The under-14 boys being lead out by eventual race winner Ben Wall of Adamstown AC.
Young athletes doing battle in Adamstown last weekend

Clubs from throughout Leinster and Munster descended on Adamstown on Sunday, September 11, for the first major Cross Country competition of the 2017 season. Athletes travelled from Waterford, Limerick, Kildare, Kilkenny, Carlow and Wicklow with a total of 25 clubs participating on the day. Even the windy and wet weather didn't dampen the spirits of the athletes on the day.

Some great races were on the cards, with All-Ireland contenders lining up in many of the juvenile races.

Wexford clubs were also out in force this year with nearly all of the clubs represented in a race.

The first race of the day was the 'Tiny Tots' boys and girls race with 31 younger athletes aged from 3 to 8, running their best to the cheers of their parents and supporters.

The boys U9 400m race with a field of 18 athletes, had eight Wexford lads in the top ten medal positions, the first three athletes were; Jaden Kenny Bree AC first; Tomas Brennan Enniscorthy AC third; and Jamie Stafford DMP AC third;

The girls U9 500m race with a field of 25 athletes was won by Leah Bolger from Bree AC followed closely by Eve Wright from Crookstown Millview (Kildare) in second position, with Aine Crean from Adamstown in third position.

The boys U10 400m race was won by Josh O'Connor of St. Josephs followed by Cian O'Donovan and Sean O'Brien of United Striders.

There was great competition in the U10 girls 400m race with Eabha Keane of DMP finishing in first place, Maura Doyle of Bree AC in second place and Aisling Coverdale of Thomastown AC in third place.

The boys U11 800m race was very competitive with two Adamstown athletes in the top five.

The race was won by Zack O'Sullivan from Tramore AC with Ross English Adamstown AC seconnd, Isaac Curraght St. Senans third, Killian Brennan Enniscorthy AC fourth and Watt Crean Adamstown AC fifth.

The best of the Wexford athletes in a very competitive girls U11 800m race was Layla Stafford DMP fourth and Katie Doyle of Bree in fifth place.

The best of the Wexford athletes in the U12 girls race was Grainne English of Adamstown AC in fourth place with Sean Lennon United Striders running a fine race to finish second to Ben Wallis of St Senans in first place.

In the U13 girls race Niamh English of Adamstown AC ran a great race to finish in second place followed closely by Bridin Doyle of Cranford AC in fourth place and Isobel English Adamstown AC in sixth place.

The U13 boys race was dominated by United Striders athletes with Myles Hewlett in first place, Cosmo Hewlett in second place and Callum Costello in fourth place.

There was great excitement in the boys U14 race with Ben Wall of Adamstown AC finishing in first position, Owen Lennon of United Striders second and Ben's brother Robert Wall finishing in fourth position.

Clara Keane of DMP AC was the best of the Wexford athletes in the girls U14 race finishing in third place.

Clodagh Foran was the best of the Wexford athletes in the U15 girls race in fourth place followed by Aoibhinn Crean Adamstown AC sixth and Ella English Adamstown AC in eighth.

Erin Shortall of St Laurence O'Tooles won the boys U15 race followed by Adam O'Connor United Striders second and Jack Forde St Killians third.

There was a great performance by Conor Keane of DMP who won the boys U16 race.

The best of the Wexford athletes in the girls U16 race was Hannah Roche Kelly of Taghmon AC fourth and Kate Jackman of Adamstown AC in fifth.

The Junior ladies race was won by Grace Costello of United Striders, with Aoife Allen of St Senans in second and Triona Mooney of Adamstown AC in third place.

The Junior mens race was won by Aedan Rodgers of United Striders, with Liam Turner DMP second and Thomas Breen SBR in third place.

The Senior ladies 3000m race was won by Elaine O'Donovan of St. Josephs AC followed closely by her clubmate Maria Griffin in second place.

The Senior mens race was won by Neil O'Rourke followed by two United Striders athletes, Allan O'Connor, second, and John McGrath, third.

With such high standards in these races it was great to see Wexford athletes take a number of Golds and a good haul of medals in an event that goes from strength to strength every year.

This competition was great preparation for our athletes and athletes from around the County for the upcoming County Cross Country Championships.

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links