Saturday 24 August 2019

Corrine wins gold!

Leinster Schools T&F

Just some of the County Wexford athletes with their medals last weekend
Just some of the County Wexford athletes with their medals last weekend

Athletes from schools throughout the county acquitted themselves very well at the Leinster Schools T&F in Santry last week. There were loads of fine medal-winning performances including several personal bests.

Corrine Kenny (Gorey CS) was an impressive winner of the Junior girls 800m (2.17.56m).

Triona Mooney (St.Mary's New Ross) had a facile win in the Senior 3000m walk (14.52.40m) while James Hanlon (Ramsgrange CS) won the Junior Boys 1200m walk (6.10.16).

Aoife Cloke Rochford (Coláiste Bríde, Enniscorthy) continued her run of fine form to win the Senior 100m (12.41s). She also placed fourth in the 200m.

It was a case of tough luck to our athletes in both the Junior boys and girls 1500m races with Adam O'Connor (CBS New Ross) and Róisín O'Reilly (Loreto Wexford) both placing fourth.

Annalise Crean (Coláiste Bríde) was fifth in the Senior 3000m. Darragh Casey (CBS Enniscorthy) won Bronze in the Junior Boys 80m hurdles (12.49s). David McDonnell (CBS, Wexford) picked up a pair of silver medals, being bested by Mark Smyth (St Fintan's HS) in both the Senior 100m and 200m.

The margin in the former race was 0.02s, David running a time of 10.99s. Aaron Smith, also CBS Wexford, was second in the Senior 110mH (15.57s).

With speed merchants like that in their ranks it is no surprise that CBS Wexford won the Senior boys 4 x 100m relay (43.58s). In fact the school was presented with a trophy for Best School in South Leinster.

The medal rush continued in the field events. Maxwell Shojeu (CBS Enniscorthy) won the Minor boys javelin (36.64m). Gergely Pap (CBS Wexford) won the Junior shot in 12.25m with school-mate Jack Forde in second (11.97m PB).

Both boys saw further action, Jack winning the high jump in 1.70m, another PB, and Gergely taking silver in the hammer (36.03m).

Nathan Murphy (CBS Wexford) placed second in the Junior discus (33.95m).

In the Intermediate boys, Joshua Hewlett (CBS New Ross) placed second in the javelin (49.95m).

Ryan Carthy Walsh (Good Counsel New Ross) won the Senior high jump (1.95m) with Shane Parle (St. Peter's Wexford) back in 4th (1.80m).

Shane's schoolmate Shane Parle, was edged into second in the Senior long jump, his jump of 6.40m equalling that of the winner.

Padraig Hoare (CBS New Ross) placed second in the Senior discus (43.06m) and third in the Shot (13.31m).

Peter O'Shea (St Peter's) won silver in the Senior javelin (49.67m). Evan O'Toole, Good Counsel, was second in the Minor high jump (1.50m) while Alex Akpourta (Adamstown CC) placed fourth.

The girls also had good success away from the track. Bronagh O'Hanlon (Pres Wexford) won the Inter hammer (37.30m). Grace Furlong (CBS New Ross) won the Senior triple jump setting a new record of 11.63m. She also won the long jump (5.37m).

Maeve Hayes (Loreto Wexford) won bronze in the Junior high jump (1.55m).

She now goes on to compete in the Tailteann Games in Santry on June 24. Maeve's schoolmates Aisling Kelly was 3rd in the Junior long jump (4.81m) and Rachel Power was fourth in the Junior triple jump (8.99m).

In the Inter girls triple jump Tara Doyle (St Mary's New Ross) placed 2nd (10.59m) while schoolmate Grace Cloney was third (10.41m).

Marguerite Furlong (St Mary's New Ross) won the Inter girls discus (36.86m) with Lystus Eboselte (Coláiste Bríde) in second (28.35m).

Lystus won silver in the shot (13.00m), while Marguerite had to settle for 4th (11.35m).

Amy Forde (Loreto Wexford) placed third in the Senior hammer (34.20m PB).

She also was fourth in the discus, setting another PB of 29.96m. Kate Jackman and Sonia Mooney, both St Mary's New Ross, were fourth and fifth respectively in the Inter javelin.

Eve Byrne (OLOL, Rosbercon) placed fourth in the Junior 1000m Walk.

Kate Jackman, Tara Doyle, Rebecca Bawden and Grainne Flannelly of St Mary's, New Ross ran brilliantly to take silver in the U16 4 x 300m relay.

Those athletes qualifying for nationals must do it all again in Tullamore on June 3. Those who missed out will now be focusing on the Leinster Juvenile T&F Championships (June 17 and 18).

Leinster Schools T&F Championships: Full Wexford results

Junior Girls

1200m Walk - 4th: Eve Byrne, OLOL Rosbercon; 5: Aoibhinn Crean, Coláiste Bríde (both on 6.45.17m).

800m - 1st: Corrine Kenny, Gorey CS (2.17.56m).

1500m - 4th: Roisin O'Reilly, Loreto Wexford (5.10.16m).

LJ - 3rd: Aisling Kelly, Loreto Wexford (4.81m).

TJ - 4th: Rachel Power, Loreto Wexford (8.99m).

Shot - 6th: Brenda Aighirio, Adamstown CC.

Inter Girls

HJ - 3rd: Maeve Hayes, Loreto Wexford (1.55m)

TJ - 2nd: Tara Doyle, St Mary's New Ross (10.59m); 3: Grace Cloney, St Mary's New Ross (10.41m).

Shot - 2nd: Lystus Ebosele, Coláiste Bríde (13.00m); 4: Marguerite Furlong, St Mary's New Ross (11.35m); 6: Eadaoin Stafford, Coláiste Bríde (10.18m).

Discus - 1st: Marguerite Furlong, St Mary's New Ross (36.86m); 2: Lystus Eboselte, Colaiste Bríde, Enniscorthy (28.35m).

Javelin - 4th: Kate Jackman, St Mary's New Ross; 5: Sonia Mooney, St Mary's New Ross.

Hammer - 1st: Bronagh O'Hanlon, Pres Wexford (37.30m).

Senior Girls - 3000m Walk - 1st: Triona Mooney, St.Mary's New Ross (14.52.40m).

100m - 1st: Aoife Rochford, Colaiste Brid, Enniscorthy (12.41s).

3000m - 5th: Annalise Crean, Coláiste Bríde.

200m - 4th: Aoife Rochford, Coláiste Bríde (25.98s).

LJ - 1st: Grace Furlong, CBS New Ross (5.37m).

TJ - 1st: Grace Furlong, CBS New Ross (11.63m).

Discus - 4th: Amy Forde, Loreto Wexford (29.96m PB).

Hammer - 3rd: Amy Forde, Loreto Wexford (34.20m PB).

Minor Boys

HJ - 2nd: Evan O'Toole, Good Counsel (1.50m); 4: Alex Akpourta, Adamstown CC.

Javelin - 1st Maxwell Shojeu, CBS Enniscorthy 36.64m; 5: Cormac Byrne, Good Counsel 31.89m.

Junior Boys

1200m Walk - 1st: James Hanlon, Ramsgrange CS (6.10.16); 5: Ryan Kielty, Good Counsel.

80m - 3rd: Darragh Casey, CBS Enniscorthy (12.49s).

1500m - 4th: Adam O'Connor, CBS New Ross (4.30.47).

HJ - 1st: Jack Forde, CBS Wexford (1.70mPB); 4: Olumese Roberts, Adamstown CC (1.65m)

Shot - 1st: Gergely Pap, CBS Wexford (12.25m); 2: Jack Forde, CBS Wexford (11.97m PB).

Discus - 2nd: Nathan Murphy, CBS Wexford (33.95m).

Hammer - 2nd: Gergely Pap, CBS Wexford (36.03m).

Inter Boys

Javelin - 2nd: Joshua Hewlett, CBS New Ross (49.95m).

Senior Boys - 110m H - 2nd: Aaron Smith, CBS Wexford (15.57s).

100m - 2nd: David Mc Donnell, CBS Wexford (10.99s pipped by .02s by Mark Smyth, St Fintan's HS).

200m - 2nd: David McDonald, CBS Wexford (22.33s again beaten by Smyth).

4 x 100m Relay - 1st: CBS Wexford (43.58s).

HJ - 1st: Ryan Carthy Walsh, Good Counsel New Ross (1.95m); 4th: Shane Parle, St. Peter's (1.80m).

LJ - 2nd: Shane Parle, St Peter's Wexford (6.40m same as first place).

Shot - 3rd: Padraig Hoare, CBS New Ross (13.31m).

Discus - 2nd: Padraig Hoare, CBS New Ross (43.06m).

Javelin - 2nd: Peter O'Shea, St Peter's Wexford (49.67m).

Complete results for days 1 and 2 of the Leinster Schools T&F are now available at

Wexford People

Most Read