Friday 15 December 2017

Dean in deadly form


U16HC DIVISION 5 FINAL in Oylegate

Fionn Rochford of Ballyhogue receives the cup from Marguerite Furlong.
Fionn Rochford of Ballyhogue receives the cup from Marguerite Furlong.

HAVING LED by 2-5 to 0-2 at the break, Ballyhogue had a comfortable ten points to spare over Clonard at the end of their Juvenile hurling championship Division 5 final (12-a-side) in Oylegate.

Scoring ace for the winners with 3-1 to his credit was Declan Power, while his partner in the inside forward line, Joe Carley, contributed 1-1.

Two of Power's goals came in the opening half, the first after seven minutes when he latched onto a well-directed line ball to shake the net from close range, and the second arrived in the 20th minute when his rasping shot ricocheted across the goal-line off a defender.

Dylan Dalton, Tom Murphy, Cormac Byrne and Mick Condon contributed the first-half points for the winners, with the only reply coming from Dylan Hynes with a point from play and another from a free.

Two second-half goals by substitute Aaron Murphy gave Clonard a ray of hope. The first eight minutes after the resumption was followed by an exchange of points, while the second reduced the margin to three points (2-7 to 2-4) with ten minutes to go.

Ballyhogue had the ability to raise their game when required as they added 2-2 before the end. Declan Power completed his hat-trick of goals with eight minutes left, and Joe Carley accounted for the insurance goal with mere seconds remaining.

Marguerite Furlong, Vice-Chairperson of Coiste na nOg, presented the cup to a delighted Ballyhogue captain, Fionn Rochford, and his team-mates amid great excitement.

Ballyhogue: Joseph Byrne, Fionn Rochford (capt.), John Kennedy, Shane Doyle, Conor Byrne, Conor Long, Dylan Dalton (0-2), Tom Murphy (0-2), Cormac Byrne (0-2), Mick Condon (0-1), Declan Power (3-1), Joe Carley (11). Subs. - Shane Fenlon for Kennedy, David Murphy for T. Murphy, also Neil Jones, Eric Kennedy, Dean Power.

Clonard: John Tormey, Kevin Malone, Alan Larkin, Aaron Pitman, Richard Cleary, Dylan Murray, Dylan Hynes (0-5), Mark Kavanagh, Daryl Hynes, Michael Bergin, David Tormey, Stephen Cullen. Subs. - Aaron Murphy (2-0) for Kavanagh, Dean Connolly for Murray, T.J. Doyle-Paige for Cullen, also Dylan Goodison, Dylan Bergin, Noel Beaver, Stephen Walsh, Tyrone Kirwan, Peter Opolski, Leon Chun On Ho.

Referee: Paddy Brady (St. Patrick's).

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links