Monday 18 December 2017

Duffry do the business


Rovers celebrate their Minor hurling championship success.
Rovers celebrate their Minor hurling championship success.

A GREAT start to the second-half made all the difference for the Duffry Rovers Minor hurlers when they saw off Askamore by five points to clinch the Division 5 13-a-side championship crown in Oulart.

Leading by 2-2 to 1-3 at the break, three quick points on the re-start from free-taker Stephen Watchorn, Gavin Rafter and Robert Frayne gave them added momentum before Rafter's 35th minute goal left the Gorey District side in serious bother.

In fairness to Askamore, they battled back well and had the gap reduced to just four points with five minutes to go thanks to a Danny Nolan major. There was high drama two minutes into added time when Seán Murphy pounced for their third goal to reduce arrears even further, with Duffry netminder Kalem Fenlon getting a straight red card for his part in the row that followed.

Earlier the netminder had inspired his side with a couple of brilliant saves, and the winners showed good resolve to clinch the title in the sixth minute of added time when scoring ace Gavin Rafter grabbed his second goal.

While Stephen Watchorn had given the Duffry the lead with a pointed free in the ninth minute, Askamore hit back with 1-2 on the trot as Eoghan Murphy's goal sandwiched points from Danny Nolan and Thomas Byrne (free).

The eventual victors drew level when another Watchorn free was followed by a Thomas O'Leary goal, but Byrne restored the Askamore advantage.

Prominent rugby player Robert Frayne gave the Duffry a real tonic six minutes before the break when he goaled to put them in front again (2-2 to 1-3), and that momentum was carried over into the new half before team captain Stephen Watchorn received the cup from Kevin Kennedy on behalf of the County Board.

Duffry Rovers: Kalem Fenlon; Craig Casey, Daryl Jordan; Conor Nolan, Ciarán Pender, Aaron Coleman; Thomas Dunne, Stephen Watchorn (capt., 0-5 frees); Gavin Rafter (2-1), Robert Frayne (1-1), Conor English; Thomas O'Leary (1-0), Seán Brooks. Subs. - John Watchorn for Brooks, inj., also Shane Rafter, Jason Watchorn, Brian Watchorn, Alan Warren, Graham Breen, Dean Masiero.

Askamore: Dwaine Smyth; Daire Power, Fionn Fortune; Jamie Quinn, Tom Kavanagh (0-1 free), Seán Foley; Thomas Byrne (0-2, 1 free), Ted Kinsella; Eoghan Murphy (1-0), Ciarán Lancaster, Steven Ryan (0-1); Danny Nolan (1-1), Conor Travers. Subs. - Colm Finn for Fortune, Ryan Bailey for Travers, Seán Murphy (1-0) for Kinsella, also Jamie Murphy.

Referee: John Denton (Faythe Harriers).

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links