Friday 15 December 2017

Adamstown aces big Minor winners

Adamstown ran out comprehensive winners of the ladies' football Minor Division 3 championship final in Farmleigh at the expense of St. Brigid's (Blackwater) recently.

Adamstown 6-9 St. Brigid's (Blackwater) 1-1

Adamstown proved to be the stronger team from the off as Hannah Keating kicked an early point and Katie Harrington rattled the back of the net.

St. Brigid's tried hard but were thwarted by a combination of strong Adamstown defending and chances sent wide.

In contrast, the New Ross District side were a lot more accurate and Cathy O'Brien added their second goal.

A Caoimhe Doyle and another Katie Harrington goal left them firmly in command, with the latter adding a point to leave Adamstown ahead at the break by 3-3 to nil.

Jane Purcell had an early chance on the re-start for the seasiders but the ball was blocked by Zara Power.

And after a quick transfer upfield, Niamh Kehoe soloed through for the leaders' next score.

Cathy O'Brien added goal number four from the kick-out, and there was no way back for Blackwater.

The prolific Katie Harrington added another point before the Wexford District side got a much-needed boost with a goal from substitute Aisling Murphy.

However, Harrington was on fire and responded with a goal to make it 5-5 to 1-0.

Although Blackwater Julia Molloy pulled back a point, Adamstown's superiority was emphasised before the end as they added another 1-4 without reply courtesy of Eadaoin Stafford (1-0), Niamh Kehoe and Cathy O Brien (0-2 each).

Adamstown: Zara Power, Shauna Wickham, Mags Furlong, Róisín Stephenson, Grace Cloney, Rachel Buckley, Róisín Dillon, Niamh Higgins, Cathy O'Brien (2-2), Oonagh Barden, Niamh Kehoe (0-3), Caoimhe Doyle (0-1), Julie Furlong, Katie Harrington (capt., 3-2), Hannah Keating (0-1), Emer Mernagh, Tara Doyle, Jane Doyle, Eadaoin Stafford (1-0), Rachel Greenwich. Management: Lizzy Kent, Liz Dillon, Michele O'Brien, Eddie Dillon.

St. Brigid's: Marie Sutton, Bernice Murphy, Emma Rath, Niamh O'Brien, Erin Fikentscher, Caitríona Roche, Sarah Murphy, Andrea Power, Lucy Purcell, Emma Berry, Maura Molloy, Aisling Byrne, Elaine McGuinness, Julia Molloy (capt., 0-1), Jane Purcell, Fiona Kelly, Izzy Carroll, Aisling Murphy (1-0), Tara O'Toole, Leah Rossiter, Moya Fortune, Katie McGuinness. Ciara Dixon. Management: Aideen Sutton. John Berry, Eugene Bernarius.

Referee: Mag Doherty (Shelmalier).

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links