Sunday 18 March 2018

All too easy for Ballymitty

Bannow-Ballymitty 5-12 Oylegate-Glenbrien 1-1

Jason Goodison

Bannow-Ballymitty thumped Oylegate-Glenbrien as they booked a Permanent TSB Junior 'B' football championship final place against Naomh Eanna in Hollymount on Saturday.

The game was rarely a contest at any stage after Bannow-Ballymitty had the ball in the net three times inside the first eleven minutes.

Jon Reville got the scoreboard ticking in just the second minute before Adam Diskin earned his side a penalty. David Currid made no mistake from the spot and he placed it to the right past the wrong-footed Adrian Harris.

The green flag was raised again moments later as Barry Sinnott finished high. Joe Sinnott intervened with a point before the third major came, with Diskin finding Donal McLoughlin who chipped past Harris.

Bannow-Ballymitty eased off a little bit after that, scoring just twice more before the break through Graham Sinnott and Ibraham Ali.

Oylegate-Glenbrien were even allowed to score a point at the other end, with Niall Kinsella raising their only white flag to leave it 3-4 to 0-1 at the intermission.

The second-half followed a very similar pattern. Barry Sinnott added a treble of minors before Currid finished off another penalty with the help of the underside of the crossbar.

David Phillips unexpectedly placed into the bottom left corner of the net immediately after for Oylegate-Glenbrien's only goal, but that was as good as it got for them.

Currid and Ali points were accompanied by a Reville brace as Bannow-Ballymitty looked to put some meat on the scoreboard.

David O'Brien's second-half red card certainly didn't help an already wounded Oylegate-Glenbrien side as they were forced to close out the game with one man less than their opponents.

Bannow-Ballymitty arguably finished off the game, which was blown up early, with the pick of the litter in terms of score quality.

A wonderful passing move was eventually squared to substitute James Crosbie to finish at the back post of Harris' goal.

Bannow-Ballymitty will have to overcome a much sterner test if they are to get their hands on the Junior 'B' championship title, with a talented Naomh Eanna outfit standing between them and the trophy.

The game will be played on Friday week, October 13.

Bannow-Ballymitty: Gary Jordan; Mark Colfer (capt.), Donal McLoughlin (1-0), Art Murphy; David Staunton, Robbie Mageean, Ibraham Ali (0-2); Gareth McCurtin, David Currid (2-1); Joe Sinnott (0-1), Adam Diskin, Graham Sinnott (0-2); Jon Reville (0-3), Barry Sinnott (1-3), Gary Murphy. Subs. - Aaron Diskin for Adam Diskin (20), James Crosbie (1-0) for Mageean (42), Keith Gaul for B. Sinnott (42), Shane Murphy for Currid (51).

Oylegate-Glenbrien: Adrian Harris; Aidan Murphy, David O'Brien, David Phillips (1-0); John Lambert, John Reck, Niall Kinsella (0-1); Tommy O'Rourke, Brian Doran; Michael Reck, M.J. Reck, Ciarán O'Brien; Micheál Doyle, Steven McCormack, Barry Doyle (capt.).

Referee: Aidan Foley (Shelmaliers).

Wexford People

Most Read