Wednesday 17 January 2018

Baile Dubh Tire claim victory over Ballyhogue

The Baile Dubh Tíre side who defeated Ballyhogue
The Baile Dubh Tíre side who defeated Ballyhogue
Ballyhogue who were defeated in the Junior 'A' Shield final by Baile Dubh Tíre

The combination of Duffry Rovers and Marshalstown known as Baile Dubh Tíre came out on top of a tight contest in Taghmon when they beat Ballyhogue by two points to clinch the ladies' football Junior 'A' shield crown.

Baile Dubh Tíre 1-13 Ballyhogue 3-5

Ciara McKelvie got Ballyhogue off the mark with a point which was cancelled out by county player Catríona Murray from a free.

Murray and Anna Nolan then swapped points before a brace from Michelle Darcy gave Baile Dubh Tíre a 0-4 to 0-2 lead.

The leaders continued to pile on the scores, with Caoimhe Denton, Murray, Ann Marie Foley, Geri Rose O'Connor and Nease Sullivan all contributing. A penalty goal netted by Murray made it 1-10 to 0-2 at the break, with Shauna Dunne and Chloe Davis defending stoutly at either end.

Murray stretched the lead with a point on the re-start before the 'Hogues finally found their feet. It started with points from Justine Spratt-Murphy and Ciara McKelvie before Aideen Kane set up the latter for a goal (1-11 to 1-4).

Catríona Murray responded with a point, but Ballyhogue were in with a chance after Spratt-Murphy added their second goal.

Although Niamh Treacy added a third goal for her side, Baile Dubh Tíre held on to win by two points on the day.

Baile Dubh Tíre: Mandy Dunne, Elaine Ryan, Sarah Morris (capt.), Chloe Davis, Mairéad Whelan, Keelin McHugh, Caoimhe Denton (0-1), Michelle Darcy (0-2), Rachel Casey, Abbie O'Connor, Geri Rose O'Connor (0-1) Evelyn Morris, Nease Sullivan (0-1), Ann Marie Foley (0-1), Catríona Murray (1-7), Donna Byrne, Aisling Pender, Lisa Kavanagh, Clodagh O'Leary, Emma Leacy, Brenda Byrne, Alma Morris, Aoife Darcy, Ciara Roban, Elaine Neville.

Ballyhogue: Bríd Byrne, Anna Nolan, Niamh Dunne, Shauna Dunne (0-1), Clare Sheehan, Laoise Rodgers, Aideen Kane, Niamh Treacy (1-0), Mary O'Gorman, Jen Duggan, Ciara McKelvie (1-2), Shonagh Spratt-Murphy (capt.), Sarah Roche, Emma Roche (0-1), Justine Spratt-Murphy (1-1), Aoife O'Brien, Aoife Codd, Niamh Spratt-Murphy, Gráinne Byrne, Sandi Murphy.

Referee: Jack Stafford (Clongeen).

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links