Sunday 21 January 2018

Ballygarrett end on high

James Donoghue

A dominant final quarter from Ballygarrett, rattling off six unanswered points, ensured they took the spoils in this keenly-contested The Courtyard Ferns Intermediate hurling championship Group A match at Monamolin on Saturday.

Askamore 1-18 Ballygarrett 1-12

The sides exchanged early points before Askamore got into their groove the quickest as Ted Kinsella converted a penalty after Billy Nolan was fouled.

Kinsella from a free and P.J. Nolan extended the lead (1-3 to 0-1) before Cathal Dunbar and Cormac Moore hit back for the victors.

However, Ballygarrett were pegged back once more as Colm Buttle and Billy Nolan tagged on further points for their side.

The winners, then sensing the game was slipping, hit a purple patch with seven points on the trot started by a delightful Cathal Dunbar line ball.

Cormac Moore and Stephen Redmond tagged on placed balls before two points from hard-working wing-forward Eoin Corcoran put Ballygarrett in front for the first time (0-10 to 1-6).

The scoring flurry was finished as it began with another delicious line ball effort from county star Cathal Dunbar.

However, matters were all square at the interval as Martin Hayden and Kinsella (free) pointed for Askamore. The second-half started in competitive fashion as P.J. Nolan tagged on a point before seconds later at the other end Cormac Moore fired a fine shot to the net to put his side back in front before following up with a free (1-12 to 1-9).

Ted Kinsella (free), Colm Buttle and Podge Byrne levelled matters again but perhaps more decisively the losers lost their talisman, P.J. Nolan, through injury in that period on a day when Shane Tomkins was already absent.

Regardless, that was the last time the sides were level as a point from the impressive Eoin Corcoran started the surge, with Kevin Jordan, Harry Byrne and Jack Hobbs with a great solo effort from the sideline adding the next three scores.

Perhaps fittingly their scorers-in-chief, Cormac Moore and Cathal Dunbar, rounded off the scoring as Ballygarrett now have two wins from their opening two games.

Ballygarrett: Shane Quinn; Tom Sinnott, Eddie Redmond, Gavin Walker; Pat Naughter, Stephen Redmond (0-2 frees), Darren Morris; Evan Dunbar, Colm Kennelly; Seán O'Brien, Kevin Jordan (0-1), Eoin Corcoran (0-3); Cormac Moore (1-5, 0-2 frees, 0-1 '65), Cathal Dunbar (0-5, 0-2 line balls), Jack Hobbs (0-1). Subs. - Harry Byrne (0-1) for O'Brien, Oisín Dunbar for Jordan.

Ashamore: Brian Hayden; Fionn Fortune, Patrick Nolan, Tom Byrne; James Lancaster, Tommy Devereux, Tom Kavanagh; P.J. Nolan (0-3), Conor Levingstone; Podge Byrne (0-1), Colm Buttle (0-2), Raymond Lancaster; Ted Kinsella (1-4, 0-4 frees, 1-0 pen.), Billy Nolan (0-1), Martin Hayden (0-1). Subs. - Tom Hayden for P.J. Nolan, inj., Conor Butler for R. Lancaster, Conor Travers for M. Hayden.

Referee: Pádraig Byrne (Ballyfad).

Wexford People

Promoted Links