Sunday 18 August 2019

Bannow-Ballymitty in top form

All-county football league semi-finals

Bannow-Ballymitty advanced to the All-County Football League Division 6 final with a bit to spare over Naomh Eanna in Grantstown on Tuesday.

Bannow-B'mitty 4-11 Naomh Eanna 0-8

The hosts went into the game full of confidence, having picked up maximum points in Group B, and that proved well founded with a powerful performance to see off their Gorey rivals.

A reasonably tight first-half was illuminated by a brilliant run and finish to the net by Barry Sinnott. His goal, and points by Rory Hannon, Garry Murphy (two) and Conor Anglim (two), were enough to give the hosts a 1-5 to 0-4 lead at the interval.

Any hopes Naomh Eanna had of turning things around quickly ended in the second-half when Graham Sinnott stepped up and converted from the penalty spot.

Conor Anglim was next to find the rigging and he also added a point in quick succession to keep the scoreboard ticking over.

With confidence flowing through the whole side, Garry Murphy completed the goalscoring for the winners. Points followed in the second period with marauding midfielder Micheál Murphy adding his name to the list of scorers.

Bannow-Ballymitty: Jason Sinnott; Gary Kinsella, Donal McLoughlin, Cian White; John Mernagh, David Currid, John Staples; Gary Morton, Micheál Murphy (0-1); Graham Sinnott (1-1, 1-0 pen.), Rory Hannon (0-3), Conor Anglim (1-4); Pat Fitzharris, Garry Murphy (1-2), Barry Sinnott (1-0). Subs. - Rajiv Kumar for Mernagh, Mark Waters for Morton.

Naomh Eanna: Seán Finn; Darren Cullen, Pat Cullen, Daniel Sunderland; Seamus O'Donnell, Ross Murphy (0-1), Gary Molloy; Darragh Hughes, Stephen Byrne; John O'Connor (0-1), Fionn Doyle (0-2), Cillian Donohoe; Eoin McGuckin, Niall Kirwan, David O'Brien (0-3). Subs. - Dylan Kenny (0-1) for Donohoe, David Nash for D. Cullen, Jack Willoughby for O'Connor, Luke Willoughby for G. Molloy, Joe Comerford for McGuckin, John O'Brien for Kirwan.

Referee: Bob Treacy (Clongeen).

Wexford People

Most Read