Tuesday 23 January 2018

Blackwater deny rocks

James Donoghue

Blackwater held off Tara Rocks to make it two wins on the bounce in the second round of the Enniscorthy Farm Systems Junior football championship Group B in sunny conditions at Bellefield on Saturday.

Blackwater 0-13 Tara Rocks 1-8

Tara Rocks got off to a dream start after Joe Bolger floated a ball over the Blackwater defence to Rhys Owley who slotted calmly home.

The sides then exchanged points through Dean Wright and Joe Bolger who was terrorising the Blackwater defence at the time (1-1 to 0-1).

The winners then hit a 15-minute purple patch when they dominated proceedings, hitting five unawsered points including a fine team score finished by Mick Lillis (0-6 to 1-1).

Joe Bolger then got the Rocks back on the scoresheet before a further exchange of points between the sides left the minimum between them at the interval (0-7 to 1-3).

Despite playing into the wind, the winners added the first three second-half points through Dean Whelan and the impressive Joe Neville twice (0-10 to 1-3).

Niall Breen and Joe Bolger cut the deficit for their side before 17-year-old Conor Sutton stretched the lead to four once more.

The sides exchanged points before Tara Rocks piled on late pressure. Despite two final points from Bolger and Brendan Hobbs, Blackwater held on for a deserved victory.

Blackwater: Robert O'Leary; Richard Blake, Anthony Roche, Ian Curran; Dermot Clarke, Kevin O'Brien, Dean Whelan (0-1); Mick Lillis (0-1), Dean Wright (0-1); Dillon Dixon, Denis Carroll (0-1), Conor Sutton (0-4, 3 frees); Ger Lynch, Joe Neville (0-4, 2 frees), Lar Leacy (0-1). Subs. - Johnny Mooney for Clarke, inj., Seán Purcell for Lynch, Lynch for Roche, black card.

Tara Rocks: Brian McDermott; Damien Tobin, Tomás Owley, Liam Fitzpatrick; Gary Owley, Brendan Hobbs (0-1), Richie McDonald; Niall Breen (0-2), Shane Tobin (0-1); Martin Sheehan, Paddy Phelan, Declan Breen; Rhys Owley (1-0), Joe Bolger (0-4, 1 free), Colin Breen. Subs. - Patrick Fortune for C. Breen, inj., Lee Owley for McDonald, Mick Fitzpatrick for L. Owley, Richie Quinn for D. Breen.

Referee: Roly Buckley (Ballyhogue).

Wexford People

Promoted Links