Friday 23 August 2019

Blackwater score at will

James Donoghue

Blackwater had too much firepower in the second-half for Glynn-Barntown in this entertaining Enniscorthy Farm Systems Junior football championship Group B clash at Holymount on Sunday.

Blackwater 4-13 Glynn-Barntown 3-10

Glynn-Barntown had the brighter opening however with two points from Ben O'Shea before Blackwater kicked three unanswered points to edge in front.

Glynn-Barntown then regained the lead as Mick Lillis failed to prevent Kevin Mahoney's goalward shot before Ben O'Shea tagged on another point.

Joe Neville cut the deficit before Anthony Roche deceived the goalkeeper with a long-range effort to put the winners ahead (1-4 to 0-3).

Glynn-Barntown then dominated for the remainder of the half. First Matt Doyle goaled from the penalty spot before Stephen Lyne burst the net at the end of a fine move, and it was 3-3 to 1-5 at the interval.

Then came Blackwater's purple patch as Denis Carroll quickly pointed after the re-start before a goal from Kerrill Sutton.

The seasiders added another three points before the impressive Joe Neville rounded his man and slotted home to put his side in the driving seat (3-9 to 3-3).

Glynn-Barntown then outscored the winners by 0-5 to 0-1, with the pick of the points coming from John O'Flynn to set up a tense finish (3-10 to 3-8).

Blackwater forward Kerrill Sutton had other ideas as he cut inside and goaled five minutes from the end before Denis Carroll, Neville and Murphy added further points.

This proved too much for Glynn-Barntown who added late consolation points from David Farrell and Matt Doyle before the final whistle.

Blackwater: Robert O'Leary; Mark Donoghue, Johnathan Mooney, Shane Wrightl Kevin Purcell, Anthony Roche (1-1), Diarmuid Murphy (0-1); Dean Wright, Dean Whelan; Kerrill Sutton (2-0), Denis Carroll (0-3), Dillon Dixon (0-1); Ned Whelan (0-1), Joe Neville (1-6, 0-1 free), Ger Lynch (0-1 free) Subs. - Michael Lillis for S. Wright, John Broderick for Dixon. Glynn-Barntown: Richie Ryan; Dylan Roche, Stephen Lyne (1-0), John O'Flynn (0-1); Kevin Crean, Shane Cahill, Gary Sutton; Conor Fenlon, David Farrell (0-1); Kevin Mahoney (0-1), Matt Doyle (1-3, 1-0 pen., 0-2 frees), Jamie Crean; Fionn Cooney, Jimmer Doyle, Ben O'Shea (0-3). Subs. - Shane Carley (0-1) for Sutton, Paschal Carley for Doyle.

Referee: Pádraig McMahon (Shelmaliers).

Wexford People

Most Read