Wednesday 24 January 2018

Bunclody overcome Fintan's to clinch Féile shield

The ladies football Féile shield semi-finals and final were played in Oylegate on Tuesday.

HWH-Bunclody 3-3 St. Fintan's 0-3

Both semi-finals were good sporting games, with HWH-Bunclody beating Shelmalier by 0-6 to 1-1 while St. Fintan's defeated Bannow-Ballymitty by 1-4 to 1-1.

HWH-Bunclody put their name on the scoreboard first in the final with a goal from Tracey Furlong, and this was followed by a quick point from Rebecca Murphy.

St. Fintan's worked the ball down the pitch with some very good teamwork but unfortunately were not able to score.

HWH-Bunclody moved the ball back up to their end and Rachel Kehoe pointed. St. Fintan's never gave up and got their name on the scoreboard with a fine point from Molly Berry.

Just before the half-time whistle Róisín O'Sullivan of HWH-Bunclody buried the ball into the back of the net.

St. Fintan's kept HWH-Bunclody goalie Aoife Murphy on her toes as she had to make some very good saves. Shauna White and Abi Sinnott worked the ball up the field and passed it into Sarah O'Donoghue who put it over the bar for the saints.

HWH-Bunclody's Lisa Kelly scored a goal after some good passing of the ball with Muireann Doyle. Rebecca O'Connor played very well and made a great scoring opportunity for Deirbhile Ní Cheallaigh, who scored a point.

There was a very good display of football on show from all players, with Sarah O'Donoghue and Clara Boggan being outstanding. A massive thank you to the referee, Billy Dodd.

HWH-Bunclody showed their versatility in this game, having already won the Féile camogie crown outright.

HWH-Bunclody: Jasmine Dundon, Naomi Kavanagh, Yvonne Kelly, Laoise Kearney, Kayla Nolan, Rebecca Murphy (0-1), Jacqui Kehoe, Lisa Kelly (1-0), Aoife Mahon, Rachel Kehoe (0-1), Deirbhile Ní Cheallaigh (0-1), Róisín O'Sullivan (1-0), Muireann Doyle, Ola Bialko, Rachel Rothwell, Leah Morris, Catherine O'Connor, Rebecca O'Connor, Aisling Cowman, Rachel Murphy, Tracey Furlong (1-0), Aoife Murphy, Rebecca O'Neill, Maeve Sinnott.

St. Fintan's: Philippa Murphy, Cora Kenny, Sarah Cleary, Ella Peare, Molly Doyle, Clara Boggan, Maeve Hayes, Shauna White, Sarah O'Donoghue (0-1), Abi Sinnott, Molly Berry (0-1), Leah Ormond (0-1), Sarah Hanrick, Aisling Ryan, Megan Lambert, Ciara Rees, Emma Carr.

Referee: Billy Dodd (Sarsfields).

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links