Monday 11 December 2017

Butler and Tyrell goals earn Duffry the crown

Under-14 Division 5 Football Shield

Dean Goodison presents the Shield to joint captains of Duffry Rovers, Cian Cloke and Marcus Carthy
Dean Goodison presents the Shield to joint captains of Duffry Rovers, Cian Cloke and Marcus Carthy
The victorious Duffry Rovers side who won the Division 5 Shield

Duffry Rovers claimed a hard-earned but fully deserved New Ross Standard Coiste na nOg Under-14 Football Division 5 13-a-side B Shield against Marshalstown-Castleockrell in St Patrick's Park on Thursday evening last.

Duffry Rovers 2-06 Marshallstown-Castledockrell 0-05

Two first half goals, with Dean Butler and Robbie Tyrell on target, that proved the difference between two sides that didn't have much separating them, quality-wise, on the night.

The disappointment for the runners-up must be tempered a little by the fact that they put in such a competitive performance. When the sides met in the group stages Duffry scored 10-13, and won by 31 points, but there was no such repeat of that in this game as Marshalstown acquitted themselves superbly.

They even had the audacity to take the lead through Michaael Ivers in the third minute. Duffry settled and hit back when Eoin Devereux's ball into the goalmouth was put away soccer-style by the alert Butler for the opening goal.

Robbie Tyrell pointed moments later and the inside-attacker went better again ten minutes before half-time when he cut in from the left, jinked past the last defender and fired past Jack Whyte from close range.

At 2-1 to 0-1 down Marshalstown responded with the last two overs of the half from Jack Salt and Cathal Roche to go in at the interval just four points in arrears.

Sean Maher's pace caused the Farmleigh boys problems all evening and he notched the first point after the interval before smacking the crossbar a little later. Tadhg Dunne again cut the gap to four (2-2 to 0-4) but points from Tyrell, Marcus McCarthy and Aaron Smyth all-but wrapped up the win.

There was still time for a classy late point for Marshalstown from one of their star men Cathal Roche but it wasn't enough to prevent a Rovers victory as they rounded out the game with a Jonathon Doyle score to seal the shield.

Duffry Rovers: Aidan Kelly; Daire O'Gorman, Cian Cloake (joint-capt); Ian Blake, Marcus McCarthy (joint-capt, 0-1 free), Jonathan Doyle (0-1); Fionn Ó Muiri, Aaron Smyth (0-1); Dean Butler (1-0), Sean Maher (0-1), Eoin Devereux; Sam Holmes, Robbie Tyrell (1-2, 0-1 free). Subs. - Cathal Cloake for McCarthy, inj (22), McCarthy for Cloake (26), Sean Kelly for Tyrell, inj (41), Sean Redmond for Holmes (47), also, Gary O'Toole, Jake McCarthy, Jake Moorehouse, Craig McHugh.

Marshshallstown-Casteldockrell: Jack Whyte; Ryan Quigley, David Kinsella (capt); Danny Byrne, Cathal Roche (0-2), Shane Roche; George Kenny, David Farrell; Jack Salt (0-1), Ryan McLoughlin, Noah Kearney; Michael Ivers (0-1 free), Tadhg Dunne (0-1). Subs. - Jack Morris for S. Roche (16), Dean Franklin for Kearney (28), Adam Somers for Quigley (40), Craig McDonal for Salt, inj, (47), J. Salt for Franklin (50), Peter Lacey for Dunne (50+3), Fionn O'Leary for McLoughlin (50+3), also, Cian Leacy, Naoise O'Leary, Johnny Hassett, Dylan Bolger.

Referee: Aidan O'Brien (Cloughbawn)

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links