Sunday 18 August 2019

Byrne hits fine hat-trick

Kilmore 5-15 Shamrocks 1-9

ML. Heffernan

Three goals from Paddy Byrne proved a key aspect of Kilmore's demolition of Shamrocks in this Joyces Expert Intermediate 'A' football championship Group B game in Oylegate on Sunday.

The big full-forward was in unstoppable form as he tore the Shamrocks defence apart, hitting a personal tally of 3-4 in this one-sided affair.

While Shamrocks were missing a number of first choice players, it is unlikely that they would have matched Kilmore anyway as the eventual winners displayed a lot of quality all over the field and dominated proceedings with ease.

Shamrocks were given the perfect start as Brandon O'Connor's effort for a point in the first minute fell short and bounced into the Kilmore net.

The lead was shortlived however as Kilmore raced to a six-point lead inside ten minutes thanks to points from Daithí Moore, Denis Kenny and Byrne, with the latter taking his first goal on the ten-minute mark.

Barry Dobbs hit two in succession for the Enniscorthy side but Moore continued to show his accuracy by adding 1-2 before Byrne hit his second goal.

Colin Sheehan and James Carty's hard work was rewarded with scores, leaving nine between the sides at the break. There was never a chance of a Shamrocks fight back at this stage and Kilmore continued to dominate proceedings in the second-half.

Alan Dobbs had an early goal chance but blazed wide, before Tom Byrne turned on the style with a superb individual goal minutes after he was denied with a great save by John Thorpe.

Any good work the Shamrocks did was easily outdone by their superior opponents, as Paddy Byrne added another 1-2 to his tally, leading his team to an easy win and their second of the campaign.

Kilmore: Kevin Casey; Alan Jones, Stephen Cousins, Mark Frayne; Aaron Kielty, Shane Cousins, Eoin Cooney; Noel Casey, Tom Byrne (1-2); Kevin Keating, Denis Kenny (0-3), Aaron Goff; Daithí Moore (1-6, 0-5 frees), Paddy Byrne (3-4), Mark Sinnott. Subs. - Willie Carley for Moore, Rory Cardiff for Keating.

Shamrocks: John Thorpe; Shane Larkin, Alan Freeman, Corey Breen; Brandon O'Connor (1-0), Podge Doyle, John Kavanagh; James Carty (0-3), Seán Wildes; Cormac Kehoe, Colin Sheehan (0-3, 2 frees), Barry Dobbs (0-2); Niall Thorpe, Alan Dobbs (0-1), Jack Moorehouse. Sub. - Anthony Wallace for Moorehouse.

Referee: Niall McDonald (Crossabeg-Ballymurn).

Wexford People

Most Read