Tuesday 16 January 2018

Byrne on rampage for the Shels

Una Sinnott

Gorey seemed behind the pace of Shelmaliers on Saturday in St. Patrick's Park as they were defeated by 13 points in Group A of the Enniscorthy Electrical Wholesale Junior hurling championship. Conor Byrne stood out for the Wexford District men and, with points from play and placed balls, he ensured his men secured a very convincing victory.

Shelmaliers 0-22 Naomh Eanna 1-6

Michael Feeney and Ross Murphy swapped points before Shelmaliers broke ahead with points from Páraic O'Leary and Byrne. David Nash replied for Naomh Eanna but Byrne could not be tamed and Jody Donohoe proved a valuable forward, getting a point for his side.

John Doyle made a fine attempt at a Naomh Eanna comeback but the prolific Byrne, once again, blasted over a plethora of scores. Darren Cullen sparkled for the Gorey men, notching a point, but Shelmaliers led by nine at half-time after Emmet and Páraic O'Leary showed their shooting talents.

The second-half was quiet for Naomh Eanna, although scoring one goal and two points. The Shels moved further ahead with exquisite scores from Willie O'Shaughnessy, Conor Byrne and Michael Feeney.

James Byrne began the second-half on top form, securing a well-placed point from play. Shelmaliers blasted forward but substitute Sean Finn did manage to minimise matters for Gorey after rattling the net.

Cullen re-appeared for Naomh Eanna with a point but after Byrne claimed his final score, the full-time whistle blew.

Shelmaliers: Paul McCleane; Darren Malone, Kevin O'Leary, Eoghan Fitzgerald; Barry O'Connor, Denis Kelly, Cathal Gaule; Glen Malone, Ciarán Walsh; Emmet O'Leary (0-2), Páraic O'Leary (0-3), Willie O'Shaughnessy (0-2); Michael Feeney (0-2), Conor Byrne (0-12, 3 frees), Jody Donohoe (0-1). Subs. - Cian Manley for D. Malone, Eoin O'Leary for Fitzgerald, Stephen Whelan for O'Shaughnessy, Joe Redmond for Donohoe, Alan Griffith for Kelly.

Naomh Eanna: Jack Cushe; John Stafford, Pat Cullen, Gary Molloy; John O'Brien, Kenneth Byrne, Michael Bernie; John Doyle (0-1), Kevin Molloy; Ross Murphy (0-1 free), Darren Cullen (0-2), James Byrne (0-1); Daithí Moore, David Nash (0-1), Dillon Kenny. Subs. - Seán Finn (1-0) for Nash, Seán Sheridan for Kenny, Alan McPartlan for J. Byrne, inj., Evan Dwyer for Moore.

Referee: Anthony Tobin (Geraldine O'Hanrahans).

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links