Wednesday 17 January 2018

Carty goal sparks Wexford landslide

By Brendan Furlong

Niall Hughes (Wexford) Conor Davis(Wicklow)
Niall Hughes (Wexford) Conor Davis(Wicklow)
Naomhan Rossiter, Jamie Carty_ Glen Malone(Wexford) David Boothman(Wicklow)
Kevin Rowe (Wexford) Pauric Higgins (Wicklow)
Kevin Rowe (Wexford) Pauric Higgins(Wicklow)
Paraic O'Keeffe (Wexford) Brendan McCrea(Wicklow)
Niall Hughes (Wexford) Thomas Donoghue (Wicklow)
Leinster Junior Football Bellfield Wexford
Leinster Junior Football Bellfield Wicklow
Counties should be allowed to recruit talent from beyond their own borders.

Wexford eased to a 21-point victory over a disappointing Wicklow in this opening-round game in Enniscorthy last night.

Wexford 3-18 Wicklow 0-6 Leinster JFC

Little separated the sides through the opening quarter, at the end of which Wexford led 0-5 to 0-2.

However the home side soon began to turn their possession into scores as a splendid goal from Graham Carty on 20 minutes eased them into a 1-5 to 0-3 lead.

Wicklow responded with points from Eamonn Woulfe and a Paul Cronin free, but Wexford finished the half with scores from Conor Sinnott (three), and Jamie Carty - all placed balls - to lead 1-10 to 0-5 at the interval.

The Garden County got the opening point on the resumption, from a Paddy Byrne free, but that proved their solitary second half score.

Wexford assumed control, adding two goals through Ciaran Redmond after 38 minutes and 42 minutes, to lead 3-12 to 0-6.

Thereafter they went on to pick off scores at will in a one-sided second half.

Scorers - Wexford: C Sinnott 0-8 (5fs, 1 '45'), C Redmond 2-1, G Carty 1-0, N Hughes, N Harney, J Carty (2fs) 0-2 each, S Byrne, K Rowe, L Devereux 0-1 each. Wicklow: P Byrne 0-3 (2fs), P Cronin 0-2fs, E Woulfe 0-1.

Wexford - A Masterson; R Vallego, J Rossiter, J Wadding; P O'Keeffe, G Malonbe, N Rossiter; S Byrne, J Carty; N Hughes, E Kent, G Carty; C Redmond, K Rowe, C Sinnott. Subs: K Butler for O'Keeffe (BC), N Harney for Hughes, D Murphy for Redmond, L Devereux for Rowe, P Travers for Sinnott, N Roche for Vallego.

Wicklow - A Murphy; B Kennedy,P Higgins, M O'Brien; J crowe, R O'Brien, J Small; D Woods, D Boothman; S McGraynor, C Tyrrell, C French; P Cronin, E Woulfe, P Byrne. Subs: T Donoghue for O'Brien, P Cunningham for O'Brien (BC).

Ref - D Hickey (Carlow).

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links