Friday 24 November 2017

Castletown dish out a hiding to Clongeen

Kevin Walsh

A goal-hungry Castletown side inflicted a heavy defeat on Clonard in their Enniscorthy Farm Systems Junior Football Championship relegation final in Bree.

Castletown 8-17 Clonard 1-05

The victors racked up an incredible score to inflict relegation on the town side, including five goals from the boot of full forward, James Casey. In the end, it was more about Clonard's dismal defending than the attacking prowess of Castletown that resulted in the heavy defeat, but take nothing away from the winners, who showed that killer instinct in front of goal. In contrast to the remainder of the game, it was Clonard who bossed the opening exchanges, opening up a four-point lead thanks to scores from Mark O'Connor and Barry Redmond and a well taken goal from Alan Larkin.

Sean Roche had replied for Castletown, before they grabbed the first of their goals thanks to a looping shot from Stephen Moloney. Three points in three minutes from Robbie Brooks, Kevin Morris and Liam Condren put Castletown in front for the first time in the match.

Then, Casey slammed a penalty into the back of the net for the first of his five goals and went further clear with a fine score from Liam Condren, before Casey grabbed his second goal of the game in the 23rd minute.

Just a minute later, Casey, who continued to find himself in splendid isolation, grabbed his hat-trick before banging in his fourth and fifth in the closing stages of the first half. Cathal Gregan also got in on the goal scoring act and further points from Jesse Foley and Liam Condren meant that Castletown went in to the break leading by an insurmountable 7-7 to 1-5.

Castletown: Stephen Gardiner, Sean Carty, George Sunderland, Peter Fogarty, Sean Roche (0-2, 1 '45), John Carty, Oisin Condren, Jesse Foley (0-1), Jimmy Fogarty (0-1), Robbie Brooks (0-3, 1 free), Kevin Morris (0-2), Liam Condren (0-5), Stephen Moloney (1-0), James Casey (5-1), Cathal Gregan (2-1). Sub: M Hempenstall (0-1) for Casey.

Clonard: Daniel Curran, Mick Kelly, Mossy Dwyer, Richard Cleary, Ian McDonald, Andy Lehane, Alan Larkin (1-0), Mark O'Connor (0-1 free), T.J Doyle, Dylan Carty (0-1), Barry Redmond (0-1), Derek Deane (0-2), Tommy Walsh, Rory O'Connor, Killian Deane.

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links