Monday 22 January 2018

Cats attack purrs

Defeat for South Wexford U-17 team

Brendan Furlong

Niall Hayden of South Kilkenny bursts past James Kelly
Niall Hayden of South Kilkenny bursts past James Kelly

South Kilkenny cruised to a comfortable 15-point victory over a disappointing South Wexford outfit in this Under-17 Celtic Challenge hurling game played in O'Kennedy Park, New Ross, on Wednesday.

South Kilkenny 3-20 South Wexford 2-8

The South Wexford boys failed to ignite at any stage of the game, with the first touch and clinical hurling of their opponents leading to their total dominance.

Indeed, by the end of the opening quarter they led by 0-9 to 0-1, with the solitary South Wexford point during this period arriving courtesy of Gavin Sheehan.

With the South Wexford boys unable to exert any influence on proceedings, the eventual winners struck for an 18th-minute goal from Ethan Phelan. The home side depended on the free-taking of Kyle Firman for the majority of scores but they still trailed by 1-12 to 0-5 at the interval.

While South Kilkenny resumed with an opening point from a Daithí Barron free, there was brief hope of a South Wexford recovery when Shane Lacey got on the end of a Kyle Firman free to finish to the net after 34 minutes.

But within two minutes the visitors had responded with a Daithí Barron goal, while a 39th-minute goal from Conor Murphy stretched their lead even further (3-15 to 1-7).

Wexford tried hard to get back into contention but were unable to make a worthwhile impression in attack, with their second goal from Jack O'Leary arriving just four minutes from the end. They were a clearly outclassed outfit.

South Wexford: Adam Howlin; Philip Dempsey, Ricky McGrath, Darragh Cooper; Gavin Sheehan (0-1), Ben Maddock, James Kelly; Pádraig Reville, Chris Cowman; Kyle Firman (0-6, 5 frees), Seán Nolan, Adam Cantwell; Seán Banville (0-1), Christopher Reville, Shane Lacey (1-0). Subs. - Eoin O'Neill for Cowman, Mark Power for C. Reville, Philip Rawson for P. Reville, Mark Murphy for Banville, Owen McLoughlin for Cantwell, Jack O'Leary (1-0) for Lacey, Adam Hearne for Sheehan.

South Kilkenny: Gavin Grant; Patrick Hearne, Oisín O'Dwyer, John Burns; Brian Staunton, Evan Shefflin (0-2, 1 free), Michael Carey; Richard Hennessy, Niall Hayden (0-3); Martin Davis, Ted Drea (0-2), Conor Murphy (1-4); Daithí Barron (1-9, 0-6 frees), Robert Dunne, Ethan Phelan (1-0). Subs. - Bill Delahunty for Hennessy, Jack Cullen for Phelan, Shane Byrne for Hearne, Conor O'Keeffe for Carey, Jack Byrne-Doyle for Davis, Pádraic Mullen for Murphy, Samuel O'Dwyer for O. O'Dwyer.

Referee: Patrick Murphy (Carlow).

Wexford People

Promoted Links