Wednesday 13 December 2017

Clongeen see off St James in final

ACFL Division 5 final

Dean Goodison

Clongeen made up a little for their defeat in the quarter-final of the Junior A Football championship by beating St James to claim the All County Football League Division 5 title in O'Kennedy Park on Sunday afternoon last.

Clongeen 2-16 St James 3-06

It was a tough loss to take for Clongeen against St Anne's eight days earlier when hopes were high but they didn't show any ill effects of that loss in a powerful performance from front to back.

Trailing 0-2 to 0-1, St James' Dermot Keating drove a blistering shot past Ricky Rochford for the opening goal but Clongeen hit back with doubles from Steve Bennett and Leon Stafford to lead 0-7 to 1-2.

Again the Ramsgrange men responded with a goal, scored when Alan Walsh dispossessed Rochford close to goal and found the empty net with ease.

Their advantage quickly disappeared when P.J. Whelan won the ball close to goal, fed Willie McDonald and the Clongeen captain goaled.

Trailing 1-9 to 2-4 at the interval St James responded with the aid of the breeze with a brace from Stuart Dunning to tie the game. However, marshalled and driven on by the excellent Jamie Keating at centre-back, the victors scored the next five points to move 1-14 to 2-6 clear.

Not a side to throw in the towel Dunning found the rigging after Adam Parle's shot was initially saved to narrow the deficit to two but just four minutes later, in the 58th minute, Clongeen wrapped up victory with their second goal which was assisted by McDonald and scored by Jamie O'Grady.

It's not all doom and gloom for the runners-up who already have the New Ross District Junior B title in the bag.

They will be seriously tested when they face Kilrush, winners of the Gorey District, in the county semi-final on Friday evening.

Clongeen: Ricky Rochford; Davy Whelan, Anton Stafford, Donal Murphy; Tom Donovan, Jamie Keating, Martin Delaney; Robert Farrell (0-1), Shane Kilkenny (0-1); Steve Bennett (0-5, 3 frees), Leon Stafford (0-2), Peter Anthony Wall (0-1); P.J. Whelan, Jamie O'Grady (1-4), Willie McDonald (capt, 1-2).

St James: John Ryan; Thomas Crosbie, Brendan Foley, Adam Long; Aaron Currie, Brian Kennedy, Joe Kehoe; Conor Crosbie, Andrew Walsh (0-1); Richie Waters (0-1), Dermot Keating (capt, 1-0), Alan Walsh (1-0); Donal Barron, Stuard Dunning (1-4, 0-1 free), Anthony Lawlor. Subs. - Adam Parle for Kehoe (31), Enda Crosbie for Barron (31), Lee Murphy for C. Crosbie (41), Tommy Walsh for A. Walsh (46), Adam Prendergast for Waters (51), Willie Murphy for Kennedy (60+1).

Referee: Noel Whelan (Fethard)

Wexford People

Promoted Links