Sunday 20 October 2019

Cosgrave saves the day

St. Mary's C.B.S. 0-17 F.C.J. (Bunclody) 1-9

Niall Parker (11) goes highest for Enniscorthy C.B.S., despite the attention of Seán Bookey (F.C.J.)
Niall Parker (11) goes highest for Enniscorthy C.B.S., despite the attention of Seán Bookey (F.C.J.)
Seán Bookey of F.C.J. takes possession under pressure from Niall Parker of Enniscorthy C.B.S., while his team-mates Seamus Doyle (3), Garrett O’Connor(4) and Paddy O’Hagan (6) await the outcome

A brilliant double save by goalie Kevin Cosgrave midway through the second-half was the decisive piece of play in this tough, unyielding Top Oil Leinster Schools Senior hurling 'B' championship contest between local rivals Enniscorthy C.B.S. and F.C.J. (Bunclody) in St. Patrick's Park on Tuesday.

With four points between the sides at that stage in favour of the C.B.S., a goal for Bunclody would have left the minimum between them, with all to play for in the final quarter.

Instead, the miraculous saves left C.B.S. in the lead, ultimately widening their advantage until it stood at five points at the final whistle.

This game was in the second round of the league stage, with both sides having won their initial matches.

Bunclody shot into a 1-2 to 0-1 lead by the tenth minute, with the goal being of the fortuitous kind. The C.B.S. goalie was deceived by the bounce of the ball in the square, with the shot coming from F.C.J. midfielder Eddie Black.

However, from there to half-time, it was all St. Mary's as they scored six points in answer to F.C.J's two. An initial offering from Jack Roche was followed by similar strikes from Conor Nolan (two), Odhran Carty (two) and a pointed Jack Reck free.

They were partly balanced for Bunclody by minors from Eddie Dunbar, who sent over from close to the corner flag, and a pointed free from James Byrne. This left the sides level at the interval (1-4 to 0-7).

The third quarter was the make or break period. Due to the sustained pressure from the Enniscorthy forwards, F.C.J. were forced to concede a number of frees, which full-forward Odhran Carty gladly converted on three consecutive occasions.

In addition, Niall Parker added to the mounting tally with a good point from out on the wing before goalie Cosgrave brought off his two miraculous saves, the first from the inrushing Eddie Dunbar, followed by a quick follow-up strike from corner-forward James Byrne.

However, despite that setback, F.C.J. were in no mood to concede the match yet and with points from Eddie Black (three) and one each from J.P. Farrell and Eddie Dunbar, they closed the gap to two.

In the meantime, C.B.S. had added to their tally with points from their ever-accurate free-taker, full-forward Odhran Carty, in addition to a good point on the run from midfielder Pádraig Walsh.

The closing ten minutes belonged to C.B.S., who added three unanswered points courtesy of Mick Delaney, Niall Parker and Rob Foley, with Bunclody visibly wilting and accepting the inevitable outcome some minutes before the final whistle.

St. Mary's C.B.S.: Kevin Cosgrave (Oylegate-Glenbrien), Rory Scallan (Ferns St. Aidan's), Mike Kelly (Oylegate-Glenbrien), Tomás Cosgrave (Oylegate-Glenbrien); Jack Roche (Oulart-The Ballagh, 0-1), Michael Gahan (Monageer-Boolavogue), Mick Delaney (Rapparees, 0-1); Jack Reck (Oylegate-Glenbrien, 0-1), Pádraig Walsh (Monageer-Boolavogue, 0-2); Liam Flood (Cloughbawn), Niall Parker (Oylegate-Glenbrien, 0-2), Craig Foley (Rapparees), David Mernagh (Monageer-Boolavogue), Odhran Carty (Rapparees, 0-7, 6 frees), Conor Nolan (Oylegate-Glenbrien, 0-2), Rob Foley (Oulart-The Ballagh, 0-1), William Doyle (Rapparees), Gavin Murphy (Rapparees), James Flood (Cloughbawn), Jack Doyle (Rapparees), Cian Wickham (Ballyhogue), Chris Lawless (Oulart-The Ballagh), Mick Dempsey (Rapparees), Enda Minogue (Ballyhogue), Kyle Murphy (Cloughbawn), Mark Quigley (Marshalstown-Castledockrell).

F.C.J. (Bunclody): James Lawlor (Ferns St. Aidan's), Niall Murphy (Ferns St. Aidan's), Seamus Doyle (Duffry Rovers), Garrett O'Connor (Askamore), Seán Bookey (Askamore), Paddy O'Hagan (Ferns St. Aidan's), Tadhg O Ceallaigh (HWH-Bunclody), Ciarán Kavanagh (HWH-Bunclody), Eddie Black (HWH-Bunclody, 1-3), Barry Doyle (Marshalstown-Castledockrell), J.P. Farrell (Rapparees, 0-1), Michael Kinsella ((Marshalstown-Castledockrell, 0-1), Seán Kirwan (Askamore), Edward Dunbar (HWH-Bunclody, 0-3), James Byrne (Askamore, 0-1), Peter Kelly (Ballyhogue), Alan Doyle (Duffry Rovers), John McCormack (HWH-Bunclody).

Wexford People

Most Read