Tuesday 20 August 2019

Craanford in full control

County Under-21 Cathal Dunbar of Ballygarrett breaks away from Craanford's Pat Kenny
County Under-21 Cathal Dunbar of Ballygarrett breaks away from Craanford's Pat Kenny
Ger Lyons of Craanford keeps a close eye on Ballygarrett's Cormac Moore in Friday's District final

Una Sinnott

Craanford captain, Michael Lyons, lifted the Gorey District Under-21 hurling Roinn 1 championship cup on Friday at Ferns. The blue and white champions dominated proceedings throughout against Ballygarrett, displaying great team communication and talent for the entire game.

Craanford 2-16 Ballygarrett 0-8

Leadership within the Ballygarrett camp was left on the shoulders of Eoin Corcoran, Cathal Dunbar and Cormac Moore. Each of the trio performed wonderfully but despite their best efforts and as the scoreline suggests, Craanford comfortably cruised to a convincing 14-point victory.

John Fleming started his men on a winning note by pointing after a foul on a team-mate. William Conroy soon claimed the first point from play as he swiftly floated the sliothar over the bar from his right-hand side.

Ballygarrett were keen to answer and this intention was carried through when Cormac Moore and Cathal Dubar guided a sliothar each over the Craanford crossbar.

From the latter puck-out however, Kevin Poole claimed his first point. This was soon to be followed by a plethora of points from the Craanford free-taker, John Fleming. Through placed balls and smart play he notched four points in total.

Youthful sharpshooter, James Smyth, was a pleasure to watch and managed to place himself on the scoreboard to follow his colleagues.

Cathal Dunbar shone bright for Ballygarrett. His immaculate sidelines stunned all spectators and he brought down the black and amber deficit while Cormac Moore did likewise. Oliver Doran was quick to find the back of the Ballygarrett net within the opening few minutes of the second-half though.

The opposition was eager to do likewise but with tough defending from brothers Pat and Jack Kenny, this wasn't an easy task. Andrew Tighe made a superb save to ensure Craanford kept their convincing lead.

In a final surge of scores, Doran re-appeared with another blast to the net while Matthew Nolan, Kevin Poole and James Smyth stroked over three of the nicest points of the game. Dunbar, Moore and Corcoran battled on but success was inevitable for the blue and white squad.

Craanford: Andrew Tighe; Tony Kavanagh, Jack Kenny, Patrick Lancaster; Pat Kenny, Michael Lyons (capt.), Ger Lyons; William Conroy (0-1), Oliver Doran (2-0); Kevin Poole (0-3, 1 free), Cian O'Toole, John Fleming (0-9, 7 frees, 1 '65); Thomas Furlong, Matt Nolan (0-1), James Smyth (0-2). Subs. - Seán Lyons for O'Toole, Seán Byrne for Fleming, Liam Nolan for Conroy, James Redmond for Furlong.

Ballygarrett: Conor Dowling; Ben McGrath, Shane Quinn, Jack Doyle; Philip Doyle, Darren Morris, Tom Sinnott; Cathal Dunbar (0-2), Gavin Walker; Eoin Corcoran, Cormac Moore (0-5, 4 frees), Mikey Burke; Patrick Fleming, Billy Conroy (0-1), Oisín Dunbar. Subs. - Dara Cahill for McGrath, Oisín Willoughby for Conroy, Dillon Sweeney for O. Dunbar, James Morris for Fleming, Seán Horan for Burke.

Referee: Paul Browne (Clonee).

Wexford People

Most Read