Monday 11 December 2017

Crossabeg-Ballymurn club of the year

The individual award recipients with Colm Campbell (Riverbank House Hotel) and Cyril Farrell
The individual award recipients with Colm Campbell (Riverbank House Hotel) and Cyril Farrell

More than 200 guests were in attendance in the Riverbank House Hotel for the Wexford District annual awards presentation dinner.

District President Dave Ormonde welcomed everyone and in particular the recipients and their families, and hoped they would have an enjoyable evening.

Andrew Nolan, County Treasurer, representing Wexford County Board, congratulated all recipients on being recognised by their clubs and thanked the Wexford District committee officers for organising the event.

Guest speaker was well-known Galway hurling coach and current RTE 'Sunday Game' pundit Cyril Farrell.

He commented on the uniqueness of the event in that it was the volunteers in clubs who were being recognised whereas it is normally only players who are honoured.

He added that it is the volunteer who makes a club, be they a player, administrator, coach or parent, and it is the club that is at the centre of what the G.A.A. is all about, and the part played by everyone within the G.A.A. family makes it the volunteer-based organisation that it is.

Whilst the G.A.A. is in competition with many other sporting organisations who receive much greater media coverage, the G.A.A. is at the core of Irish society and has survived the test of time when other Irish institutions were in decline, he added.

He encouraged all present to invest in the development of our youth who are currently so vulnerable from the many modern day distractions, as it's the youth who are crucial to the future of the organisation.

Dave Ormonde presented Cyril Farrell with a statute of a Pikeman in recognition of his attendance.

The Wexford District club of the year award sponsored by the Riverbank House Hotel was won by Crossabeg-Ballymurn who completed a unique double in 2015 in winning Premier Under-21 hurling and football titles.

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links