Sunday 25 August 2019

Denton does the damage

Brendan Furlong

Two Brian Denton goals helped Faythe Harriers to secure their quarter-final place with a thoroughly-deserved five-point victory over Shelmaliers in this Enniscorthy Electrical Wholesale Junior hurling championship Group A game at Innovate Wexford Park on Saturday.

Faythe Harriers 2-12 Shelmaliers 0-13

In a game that was keenly contested throughout, it was Denton's brace, one in each half, that proved decisive as the town side set themselves up for a decisive victory over the Shels, who have also secured a quarter-final spot.

The Shels were nearly totally reliant on the accuracy of Conor Byrne for their scores, as he finished the game with a personal tally of twelve points, with eleven coming from placed balls.

However, his 61st-minute effort from a penalty sailed over the bar, when a goal would have left them within three points of their opponents.

Wing-forward Johnny Campbell was the only other Shels player to figure in the scoring, his point arriving in the opening minute, but Denton's finish from a Wayne Mallon dipping delivery after 15 minutes helped the Harriers to an eventual 1-6 to 0-6 interval lead.

Within three minutes of the re-start Denton once again found the net with a neat finish from 14 metres, giving his side a six-point cushion. While Byrne points from frees kept the Shels in contention, the excellent point-taking of Wayne Mallon, delivering three from play, secured the Harriers' quarter-final spot with aplomb.

Faythe Harriers: Adam McDaid; Stephen Cummins, John Walsh, Fiach O Crúalaíoch; Fran Cleary, Ciarán Kirwan, Jack Murphy; Shane Wilde (0-4, 3 frees), Damien Roche (0-1); Daniel Lynch, Seán Pailing, Stephen Kearney (0-1); Wayne Mallon (0-4), Brian Denton (2-1), Paul Gannon (0-1). Subs. - Cillian Lawlor for Murphy, Conor Halligan for Lynch, Eoin Roche for Pailing, P.J. Mooney for Gannon.

Shelmaliers: Paul McCleane; Eoghan Fitzgerald, Denis Kelly, Cathal Gaule; Barry O'Connor, Alan Griffith, Cian Manley; Glen Malone, Ciarán Walsh; Johnny Campbell (0-1), Emmet O'Leary, Conor Hearne; Jody Donohoe, Darren Malone, Conor Byrne (0-12, 11 frees). Subs. - Graham Staples for Gaule, Stephen Whelan for D. Malone, Liam Rockett for Donohoe, Michael Feeney for O'Leary, Craig Parker for Manley.

Referee: Jack Stafford (Clongeen).

Wexford People

Most Read