Sunday 18 August 2019

Duffry have two goals to spare

Duffry Rovers 2-13 St. Patrick's 0-13

Una Sinnott

Two keen rivals met in their first match of the Top Oil Intermediate 'A' hurling championship in Farmleigh. This Group A encounter saw Duffry Rovers and St. Patrick's battle it out, with the Coolree crew prevailing by six points.

Two well-matched squads both had two sweeper systems in place.

Michael O'Brien filled the role for St. Patrick's and his presence in front of the full-back line was phenomenal, clearing any and every ball he could to defend his goal-line.

A well-guided ball in the first few minutes landed in Tynan Flynn's hand and he split the posts to get his purple and gold men ahead at the start.

The strong and tall Jason Rackard was quick to draw matters level, however, as he responded at the other end.

The free-takers of both sides, Tomás Morris for St. Patrick's, and Cathal Clince for Duffry Rovers, were on form throughout.

Both men began their tallies and Clince stood out. Clince secured one goal and seven points to his name in the first-half, the goal came from a very controversial penalty decision.

St. Patrick's were left with Tynan Flynn and Dermot O'Leary to reply for them, but the Duffry led by a goal and a point at half-time.

St. Patrick's were in desperate need of a goal in the second-half. Although they neatly popped over points from Tommy Dunne and Shane Finn, they couldn't get within distance of the Duffry.

In the meantime, Liam Pender, John Dunne and Paul Nolan urged their men further ahead by raising the white flag. Within the final five minutes, a high delivery into the Duffry Rovers full-forward line landed dangerously in the square.

After a scramble for the ball, Cian Fitzhenry pulled hard and found the back of the St. Patrick's net.

The whistle was sounded following the next puck-out and the Duffry were heading home the deserved winners with two goals to spare.

Duffry Rovers: Stephen Watchorn; Craig Casey, Donie Doyle, Thomas Dunne; Joe Coleman, Donie O'Connor, Aidan Byrne; Cathal Clince (1-7, 0-5 frees, 1-0 pen.), Liam Pender (0-1); Gavin Watchorn, Eamonn Doyle, John Dunne (0-1); Jason Rackard, Paul Nolan (0-3), Cian Fitzhenry (1-0). Sub. - Alan O'Neill (0-1) for E. Doyle, Johnny Flynn-O'Connor for Rackard, Rackard for O'Neill (temp.).

St. Patrick's: Stuart Quinn; Peter Roche, Richie Flood, James Cousins; Daryl Murphy, Dermot O'Leary (0-3), Brian Cadigan; Michael O'Brien, Tommy Dunne (0-1); Shane Finn (0-1), Michael Carroll, Hughie Doyle; Tomás Morris (0-5, 4 Frees), Tynan Flynn (0-2), Paul McDonald. Subs. - Tommy Morris (0-1) for Carroll, David Kenny for Flynn.

Referee: David Owens (Askamore).

Wexford People

Most Read