Friday 19 January 2018

Duffry hold on to win

Duffry Rovers 2-6, Crossabeg-Ballymurn 1-8: The youthful exuberance of newly-promoted Crossabeg-Ballymurn came close to upsetting the more seasoned Duffry Rovers in Group B of the Joyces Expert Intermediate 'A' football championship in Bree on Sunday, but in the end the Enniscorthy District side prevailed by the bare minimum.

Last year's Junior victors shipped an early blow despite playing with the wind when Paul Nolan goaled after two minutes for the side left reeling from two successive relegations.

While Crossabeg-Ballymurn drew level with points from Cormac O'Rourke and Niall Murphy (two), they suffered a second setback in the form of Eamonn Doyle's fisted goal after a free into the danger zone wasn't adequately dealt with.

Paul Walsh came close to replying for the Wexford District side who had narrowed the gap to 2-1 to 0-6 by the break after accurate frees from O'Rourke (two) and Murphy.

When Barry Murphy rattled the net on the re-start the advantage appeared to be with Crossabeg-Ballymurn, especially as the Duffry were reduced to 14 men.

It took a major effort from the Coolree crew to re-establish superiority, but points from Stephen Watchorn, Eoghan Kavanagh (two), Matthew Flynn-O'Connor and Robert Frayne (free) left them 2-6 to 1-6 clear with ten minutes left.

While Cormac O'Rourke picked off two more frees to leave a nervy finish, the Duffry held out and now boast the perfect record from the first two rounds.

Duffry Rovers: Bobby Larkin; James Nolan, Donie Doyle (capt.), Fergal Kenny; Conor Jordan, Aidan Byrne, Robert Frayne (0-1 free); John McCarthy, Eamonn Doyle (1-0); Eoghan Kavanagh (0-2), Paul Nolan (1-0), Stephen Watchorn (0-2); Loughlin Rafter, Niall Beggan, Patrick Nolan. Subs. - Matty Flynn-O'Connor (0-1) for Patrick Nolan, Tim Bowler for Beggan.

Crossabeg-Ballymurn: Zach Corish; Matthew Sludds, Eoin McDonald (capt.), Martin Redmond; Conor Devereux, Michael Eviston, Seamus Carroll; Billy Roche, Bill Eviston; Barry Murphy (1-0), Niall Murphy (0-3, 2 frees), Paul Walsh; Mark O'Connor, Mark Dempsey, Cormac O'Rourke (0-5, 4 frees). Subs. - Pádraig Foley for Carroll, Paddy Devereux for M. Eviston, Ben Turner for Corish, Andy Butler for Dempsey.

Referee: Barry Redmond (Clonard).

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links