Tuesday 20 August 2019

Dunbrody's late flourish earns District final place

Dunbrody Gaels 2-19 Adamstown 2-15

Shane Bradley

Dunbrody Gaels hit a late flourish to edge past Adamstown in an entertaining New Ross District Under-21 hurling Roinn 1 championship semi-final in Adamstown on Tuesday.

Hosts Adamstown tarted much stronger, with Liam Stafford scoring two fine points from distance along with a Harry Cosgrave free and a marvellous sideline cut executed perfectly from 35 metres by Podge Kavanagh to leave them four points clear with just five minutes gone.

However, the amalgamated side of St. James' and Horeswood fought back with scores from midfielder Seán Nolan, Colin Kehoe and Alan Walsh.

The first goal came on 17 minutes when a high ball from a long distance free was caught by full-forward Alan Walsh and he buried to the net from close range to see the visitors leading by 1-3 to 0-4.

Adamstown struck back with a goal shortly after as Colm Feeney's long distance shot looked to carry no danger, but the ball sailed past Kevin Rowe in goal into the net to level the sides after 20 minutes (1-4 each).

Craig Murphy for Dunbrody Gaels and Seánie O'Neill exchanged points before Alan Walsh, who was a huge threat to the Adamstown backs with his aerial threat, struck 1-1 in quick succession.

He plucked a ball from the sky, evaded his man and buried low past Tomás French, leaving the score 2-7 to 1-6 after 25 minutes.

Harry Cosgrave added three frees in a row and Seánie O'Neill took a fine score from 40 yards to leave the Gaels ahead at half-time by 2-7 to 1-9.

Alan Walsh again started the second-half impressively as he slotted over two points from close range before Lar Roche and a Cosgrave free reduced the arrears once more.

Dunbrody Gaels were the better side at the beginning of the second-half as midfielder Seán Nolan, Jamie Doran from a free and a Craig Murphy point saw them lead by five with 15 minutes remaining.

The game exploded into life in the last quarter as Harry Cosgrave pointed twice, one from a free, before netting from a brilliant solo run when he shot low from a tight angle to rattle the net, leaving the sides level again (2-14 each).

The game could have gone in either direction in the last five minutes, but Dunbrody Gaels had more left in the tank as Darragh Lyons, dual county Minor Seán Nolan and Craig Murphy all pointed from play, with the ever-dangerous Alan Walsh and Jamie Doran converting frees.

The amalgamation will now face Geraldine O'Hanrahans in the final, after the town team received a walkover from St. John's Gaels (Bannow-Ballymitty and Clongeen).

Dunbrody Gaels: Kevin Rowe; Damien Hearn, Eamonn O'Sullivan, John Boland; David Murphy, Jamie Doran (0-3 frees), Conor Crosbie; Darragh Lyons (0-1), Seán Nolan (0-3); Dylan Whitty, James Fitzgerald, Craig Murphy (0-3); Colin Kehoe (0-1), Alan Walsh (2-8, 0-6 frees), Kevin Parker.

Adamstown: Tomás French (0-1 free); Michael Dunleavy, J.P. Furlong, John Dunleavy; Colm Feeney (1-0), Stephen English, Mosie Delaney; Liam Stafford (0-3), Lar Roche (0-1); Podge Kavanagh (0-1 line ball), Harry Cosgrave (1-7, 0-6 frees), Mick Foley; Rory Foran, Andrew French, Seánie O'Neill (0-2). Sub. - Eoin Furlong for Foran (45).

Referee: Pat Kehoe (Rathgarogue-Cushinstown).

Wexford People

Most Read