Tuesday 20 February 2018

Easy win for Adamstown

Una Sinnott in Farmleigh

Adamstown prospered throughout the second-half of their Courtyard Ferns Intermediate hurling championship Group B encounter with Craanford on Sunday on a gloriously bright Farmleigh pitch. The black and amber men denied Craanford their first win by an impressive 14 points.

Adamstown 3-15 Craanford 0-10

Shooting into the sun during the first-half, Adamstown began proceedings with Shane O'Gorman providing a fantastic crossfield pass to Vinny Doheny who confidently claimed his first point. The reliable and skilled free-taker, Kevin Poole, answered for Craanford before Lorcan French did likewise from a placed ball. Doheny shone once again with a score from play for Adamstown.

Poole proved consistent with dead balls for Craanford but they were lacking scores from play unlike their opponents. Midfielder O'Gorman shared scoring spoils alongside his team-mates, Patrick Whitty and Lorcan French, with Doheny showing great support throughout.

Kevin Poole showed how his talents go further than free-taking by notching his side's first point from play with a fine shot from the 65-metre line. A great combination between Tony French and Shane White saw O'Gorman secure a point but this was soon cancelled out at the other end by the impressive forward, Matthew Nolan.

The secon- half saw Adamstown progress their three-point lead to much more with a treble of goals and well-taken points. On three separate occasions the top scorers for each squad, Lorcan French and Kevin Poole, exchanged points.

French went one better, however, by finding the back of the Craanford net. Seán Barden and Tony French excelled in the forward line before James Byrne retaliated with a smart point.

With ten minutes remaining, Poole supplied Craanford's final point but Patrick Whitty and Ian Stafford secured victory for Adamstown with two sharp goals. Tony French brought matters to a close with a final point.

Adamstown: Paul Cooper; Johnny Connors, M.J. Cooper, Paudie Barden; Ian Bradley, James Breen, Brendan Furlong; Shane O'Gorman (0-2), Lorcan French (1-7, 0-6 frees); Vinny Doheny (0-2), Patrick Whitty (1-1), Shane White; Tony French (0-2), Barry Power, Seán Barden (0-1). Subs. - Liam Stafford for Power, Ian Stafford (1-0) for White.

Craanford: Andrew Tighe; Joe Berney, Stevie Greene, Tony Kavanagh; Niall Berney, Pat Murray, Michael Lyons; Michael O'Loughlin, Oliver Doran; Kevin Poole (0-8, 5 frees, 1 '65), Matt Kenny, Matthew Nolan (0-1); Des Kavangh, Shane Kavanagh, John Fleming. Subs. - James Byrne (0-1) for S. Kavanagh, James Smyth for Fleming, Peter Kavanagh for Doran.

Referee: Philip Murphy (Faythe Harriers).

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links